1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Pioneers Avland - no component?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by bluesfan, Jun 23, 2004.

  1. bluesfan

    bluesfan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Messages:
    303
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    New pioneers at avland don't show component connections. Are they wrong?
    eg 420/520
     
  2. pemberto

    pemberto
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    500
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Huntingdon
    Ratings:
    +32
    No Avland are not wrong, its just the Product Managers at Pioneer dont listen to what the consumer wants.
    Here are the Input/Output spec for the 520 and 720

    Connections Terminals DVR-520H-S
    Input 1 SCART (AV connector2)
    RGB Input via Euro-SCART
    1 RCA (Audio/Video) (front: 1)
    1 S-Video (front: 1)

    Output 1 SCART (AV connector 1)
    RGB Output via Euro-SCART
    1 RCA (Audio/Video)
    1 S-Video
    Optical Digital Audio

    Connections Terminals DVR-720H-S
    Input 1 SCART (AV connector2)
    RGB Input via Euro-SCART
    1 RCA (Audio/Video) (front: 1)
    1 S-Video (front: 1)

    Output 1 SCART (AV connector 1)
    RGB Output via Euro-SCART
    1 RCA (Audio/Video)
    1 S-Video
    Optical Digital Audio
     
  3. bluesfan

    bluesfan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Messages:
    303
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Am I right in thinking rgb in/out via scart (2 way) not as good as component (3 way) connections.

    Presume 420 has only rbg via scart?

    Ta
     
  4. pemberto

    pemberto
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    500
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Huntingdon
    Ratings:
    +32
    People will say that RGB is only a small step down from component video, which I tend to agree with.
    If you are looking for a DVD recorder that provides a component video out then you need to look at either Sony or Panasonic at AVland. From what I have seen you cannot get a DVD-R that provides a component video in feed for recording, so RGB would be the best video feed you can get.
    Hope that helps.
     
  5. bluesfan

    bluesfan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Messages:
    303
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry pemberto but I have checked the dvr-220 manual and it has a component GYB out on the back. Therefore avland (and you) are wrong. I would presume anything upwards would be the same.

    Where did you get your info from?
     
  6. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,204
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,261
    Are you sure your not looking at the US/Canadian version (which does have component output)? The Pioneer UK site does not mention Component Output:
    http://www.pioneer.co.uk/uk/product_detail.jsp?product_id=8532&taxonomy_id=62-125

    And the Pioneer DVDR-720 defintetly does NOT have component output (there is a full review in the current WVWE). Which suggests the cheap 320 doesn't also...
     
  7. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,204
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,261
  8. bluesfan

    bluesfan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Messages:
    303
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks guys!

    Bizarre! Why would they exclude it from the europe model.

    Are they nuts!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  9. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,204
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,261
    We always get less features in Europe. For example the Panasonic DVD recorders have had component/progressive scan for several generations now in the US but it has only just been added here. It is annoying!
     
  10. pemberto

    pemberto
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    500
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Huntingdon
    Ratings:
    +32
  11. bluesfan

    bluesfan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Messages:
    303
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Strangely the back view does not show a fan but I presume the HD versions have one?
     
  12. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,204
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,261
    Pemberto, checkout the UK manual (from the Pioneer site). The current batch of machines definitely do not have Component out.

    Where are you looking on that specs sheet? I see no Component listed? The 720 was reviewed in the current What Video (August) - and they marked it down specifically for not having Component...
     
  13. bluesfan

    bluesfan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Messages:
    303
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
  14. pemberto

    pemberto
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    500
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Huntingdon
    Ratings:
    +32
    Lets go back to the start of this thread by Bluesfan. His questions was - The information available on the AV Land website for the Pioneer 420/520 shows that is does not have a component video output. Is this correct?

    So to put this in a simply form, Does the Pioneer 420/520 have component video output?

    I posted a reply that said, the information on the website is correct and that those models do not have component video output and list the available options for the 520 and 720.

    After looking at a few of the responses from other people talking about US Vs. UK manuals I have decided to call Pioneer direct today.

    I ask the very same simple question, Does the 420/520 have a component video output. The answer from Pioneer was NO. Those models do not have a component video output.

    For those of you who will not accept this answer, please feel free to call Pioneer Customer Services directly on 01753 789500 and get the same answer as I did.

    Rasczak, if you read the whole post you will see that I have never said these model have component video output.
     

Share This Page

Loading...