1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Pioneer MXE models

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by rscott4563, Mar 27, 2004.

  1. rscott4563

    rscott4563
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,051
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1
    This is taken from the spec sheet for the new Pioneer MXE models from the Pioneer official MXE website, I don't know if this was already common knowledge or not but it seems from what it says below that the new MXE's won't be HDCP compatible on the DVI connection!? This seems very important and a bit of cockup by Pioneer, what do you think??

    [​IMG]
     
  2. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Yes this is known and has been posted, but overlooked in the general 'noise' about digital connections. I think Pioneer might have gabled that the EC would make a distinction about DVI, HDMI and HDCP with their new import tariff. Or maybe they don't consider it important as their new consumer plasma already has HDCP on it's spanking perfect digital port.
     
  3. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,803
    As MAW says. Of course there are likely to be HDCP compliant third party input terminal boards that will facilitate this.

    Gordon
     
  4. SimonO

    SimonO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +64
    I think it's limited in terms of video resolutions anyway, but I like the idea of an 'open architecture' input port made available to third parties... I think the current DVI-HDCP Aurora cards will go straight in, although I'd like to see a cheeper input only card without a scaler... The specs for the two Pioneer input cards look a lot more PAL friendly too, which is encouraging...

    I think I might finally buy a plasma..!
     
  5. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    24,283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,573
    Hello all

    The Aurora HDCP cards need an 'adapter' which is being worked on - the G4 chassis (04MXE) has two slots: one for an RS232 comms card and one for a video card; though the video slot is longer than the slot on the 03MXE displays hence the requirement for an adapter.

    Its not been confirmed but I guess Pioneer are trying to keep the MXE's out of the Consumer channel by not implementing HDCP on the G4 MXE chassis.

    Then again I believe Pioneer in Europe have been running tests with the Aurora A304-HDCP already - as I'm sure that in the UK and Europe MXE's sold into the 'Installer' market is quite big business.

    Simon - I've not heard of an Input only cards so far; just Scaler cards.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  6. SimonO

    SimonO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +64
    Aurora A304-HDCP doesn't look very PAL friendly..? Doesn't look like it does 1024 x 768 either..?
     
  7. SimonO

    SimonO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +64
    I can understand the decision to leave out HDCP on the DVI input, it is a computer monitor after all, however they should be offering a 5005 card with HDMI... Something for the future.!?
     
  8. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    They'll leave it to the likes of Aurora, they're really not interested
     
  9. SimonO

    SimonO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +64
    Maybe... But even 'corporate' customers will want to be able to view HD-DVD when it's available and it's my understanding that this will all be copy protected... If HD-DVD becomes available within the life cycle of this model then I think there is a strong possibility of a suitable input card...

    To be honest I'm not going to worry about it too much, analogue (or SDI if I have to) will keep me going for the foreseeable future...

    If I find I can't play copy protected content in the future it'll be a good excuse to by a decent projector..!
     
  10. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Most corporate customers don't give a monkeys about PQ, and are be happy with composite video as long as it's cheap, so no they won't miss HDCP, I have never known any company use DVI in spite of my efforts.
     
  11. SimonO

    SimonO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +64
    The manual is now available on the Pioneer UK website...
     

Share This Page

Loading...