1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Pioneer MXE model - No HDCP support???

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Jackass, Apr 21, 2004.

  1. Jackass

    Jackass
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    2,959
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +549
    Has the new MXE model got HDCP support on the DVI input?

    Steve.
     
  2. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,976
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,779
    No. There will be third party cards that will allow this though. At least that is my understanding

    Gordon
     
  3. Jackass

    Jackass
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    2,959
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +549
    Thanks Gordon.

    Has this panel got any advantage over the HDE model?

    Steve.
     
  4. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Yes, it hasn't got a horrid, restrictive media box between you and the panel, so you can buy one of Gordon's Lumagen scalers and actually see it working.
     
  5. Jasonjo

    Jasonjo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +112
  6. Jackass

    Jackass
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    2,959
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +549
    I thought the HDE model had a HDMI socket, cant you get native resolution through this?

    Steve.
     
  7. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    NO!:mad:
     
  8. Turlough

    Turlough
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    333
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Land of the Nimbys
    Ratings:
    +34
    and they said the same about the 433MXE.... :mad:.......................................and I'm still waiting :censored:

    Anyone met a representative of Key Digital at the time agreed? ;)

    Slightly O/T but as I'm stuck with a non-HDCP complaint 433MXE and an HDCP compliant DVD (Linn Unidisk) - is there an external box I could use that would improve on the progressive component I'm feeding from the DVD to screen via a 3 cable monster ?

    I'd like to use the DVI from the DVD but as Linn are still developing the HDMI upgrade that may have to wait.

    One possibility I'm considering is adding a SIM PJ as this may work out the same cost as adding a high-end scaler thingy (sorry, but I'm treading water when it comes to video enhancement !)
     
  9. Jackass

    Jackass
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    2,959
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +549
    So what panels (from any manufacturer) actually have HDCP support and do native res via DVI/HDMI?

    Steve.
     
  10. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Panasonic HD 42 and 50. Er, that's it I think.
     
  11. Chris5

    Chris5
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,157
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Herts., uk
    Ratings:
    +122
    and Fujitsu?
     
  12. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    NO!:mad: Fujitsu DVI never supported native res, though it was supposed to, and now they have removed it from the current generation. This might well be because from 1.5.04, there will be an EC tariff of 14% on 'computer monitors' with a DVI interface, which is defined as making them a consumer product, ie a television. There is one other way of getting around this, which is to build them in the EC. Anyone with a Pioneer surprised at what it says on the box?
     
  13. jdl

    jdl
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    139
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Athens Greece
    Ratings:
    +3
    Do you know if the new philps 42pf9966 supports native resolution thru its DVI-I input?
    Thanks
     
  14. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,758
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,463
    Hello all

    Jackass - as MAW says no 'active' HDCP support on the DVI-D input; though I believe much background negotiations are going on to see if HDCP can legally be enabled once either of Pioneer's video cards are installed.

    Turlough - at least one Forum member has a working Aurora Multimedia A304 card which is HDCP compliant and Aurora have an adapter module that allows the A304 to fit into the longer accessory slot on the MXE1 chassis.

    Other HDCP solutions will appear - though for customers wanting HDCP from day one we will offer an MXE1 + Aurora solution.

    As MAW says the issue of HDCP (or lack of) is being driven by the fact that the majority of these panels are sold into applications that don't require HDCP compliance and now that HDCP compliance is going to add 14% to the cost of the Display this feature has been 'removed' rather than overlooked.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  15. Turlough

    Turlough
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    333
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Land of the Nimbys
    Ratings:
    +34
    Thanks Joe.

    Does the Aurora card actually fully work in the UK ? I read on here some pops about it's PAL compatability. As you're planning using it in a package does that imply that you are happy with it's performance ?

    Whilst we're on the subject - what does it give the user apart from HDCP ? Lot of money for "just" that !

    Thanks.
     
  16. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,758
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,463
    Turlough

    We've been having on going discussions with Aurora about the card and its viability in the new MXE1 chassis and they have just appointed a new European distributor so everything's still at an early stage.

    The PAL issues is really that like so much US kit its better at NTSC than it is PAL - how it looks with any of the current HDMI enabled DVD players we have still to see.

    I don't have a price as yet for the A304 plus the adapter required to interface what is a 3G (old) chassis card with a 4G (new) chassis that has a different size video slot - I'm guessing we'll be looking at something like an MXE1 + £600 for the combination.

    The extra cash outlay gives you the all important (for some) HDCP compliance plus an on board scaler on a par with most other near £1k scalers.

    Have a look at the Aurora website for more info on the A304-HDCP as there are other features that will be of interest to some but not others - see http://www.auroramultimedia.com/web/?section=products&product=a304

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  17. Alex-1701

    Alex-1701
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    According to David Allcock - "Right now there are only 6 DVD players with HDMI, the new Pioneer 868 and 686 universal DVD players, the Denon A11, and the Meridian G98, G91DH and 800 series reference transport. In terms of new display products, currently the Sony HS 20 projector, SIM2 HT300 Link projector and the Pioneer PDP504HDE and PDP434HDE are HDMI equipped."

    You can read more about this at this link -

    http://www.audiophilecandy.com/news2.asp?article=20&type=info
     
  18. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,976
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,779
  19. Alex-1701

    Alex-1701
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's good to know Gordon. I am currently looking for a new DVI (+HDCP compliant) projector? Do you know which ones are might do the job?

    I think the Z2 might do it, although Sanyo are a bit slow at getting back to me, and I have heard contradictory information from about the Panny AE500.
     
  20. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Z2 is HDCP indeed. It is actually sources that are more in short supply than displays
     

Share This Page

Loading...