1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Pioneer Amps with i link?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Matthew J Taylo, Aug 5, 2003.

Tags:
  1. Matthew J Taylo

    Matthew J Taylo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    164
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,

    Does anyone know when Pioneer plan to launch lower priced version's of thier £3 grand amp with the i link function? All the reviews raved how great it sounded partnered with their 757ai DVD machine, which I've bought & I'm waiting for a £800 quid machine to arrive with i link?

    Any news greatly appreciated

    Matt:eek:
     
  2. meep

    meep
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    574
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +42
    Matt

    It's called the AX5i.

    It's esentially the 2011 with iLink and a few other bits and pieces.

    It's been discussed here;

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=85142

    It's also reviewed in the current What Hi-Fi magazine.

    Not sure when it's to be launched but list prioces appears to be around £1,200. Don't see any mention of a non-macc version (a la 1011)

    Hope that helps


    Peter
     
  3. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    There will be a baby sister - the VSX-AX3 - which we'll be doing for around £750 all in. It doesn't have i-link but does still have the Air Studios treatment and MCACC! In fact, Auto MCACC will be available on the new D912 (around £500) too!

    FYI: the AX5 and AX3 are due next month....
     
  4. Matthew J Taylo

    Matthew J Taylo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    164
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Ratings:
    +0
    Many thanks for the tip off, looks like a winner

    Matt
     
  5. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,560
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +257
    Hi,

    Does anyone know if the AX5i has an audio delay feature, like the AX10i? Thanks.

    Steve

    Edit - Looking at the other thread, it appears it doesn't. :( For £1200 I would have expected it.
     
  6. Oakey

    Oakey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    523
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Can the i-link on the 757 be used for inputs? I've just got a Marantz 7300, I plan to get a 757 and I have a Sony LISSA stereo. Instead of having multiple speakers everywhere, would it be possible to connect the LISSA to the 757 via i-Link and then output the feed from CD/MD through the 757 and into the Marantz?
     
  7. Big Adam

    Big Adam
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Messages:
    509
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +4
    So if the AX5 is a new 2011 but with i-link, does that mean the AX3 is effectively the same as the 2011?

    Big A
     
  8. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    Basically, yes!
     
  9. Dave777

    Dave777
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    479
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Gatwick
    Ratings:
    +8
    But....... does the AX5i have an audio delay?????

    Does anyone know for sure?


    Cheers

    Dave
     
  10. overfloe

    overfloe
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    230
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +0
    oh.. i tought that the ax3 is a replacement for 1011 :?
     
  11. chard

    chard
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    398
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the AX10 without the i link - does anyone know if you can upgrade this and how much ?
     

Share This Page

Loading...