New PC old with old my old Windows 7 OEM OS

Discussion in 'Computer Software & Operating Systems' started by Strider2027, Aug 4, 2013.

  1. Strider2027

    Strider2027
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    105
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    I want to build a totally new PC to replace the one I built over 2 years ago. I don't want to use windows 8 as I tried it for a month and didn't get on with it. I want to wipe the OS from my current PC.

    So I will have my original Windows 7 OEM OS spare. Will I be able to reactivate it by phone with Microsoft on my new PC build as I don't want to buy another Windows 7 licence?
     
  2. Trollslayer

    Trollslayer
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    26,015
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Poole
    Ratings:
    +10,886
    I think with the OEM you can change some parts but not transfer it, after activation the license is locked to that PC.
     
  3. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,546
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,523
    An OEM license is locked to the original PC it was installed & activated on - by PC it is really means the motherboard. So if you want to build a new PC you will need to buy another copy of Windows or you will be in breach of the OEM EULA.
    Only a retail copy of Windows can be transferred to another PC, and only if removed from the original PC it was installed on.

    Mark.
     
  4. Strider2027

    Strider2027
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    105
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    Thanks guys. I did some internet search's on the subject and some seem to have had success reactivating there OEM version on a new PC/mainboard after calling Microsoft. I couldn't see an instance of anyone doing it lately though so I wasn't sure.
     
  5. snooper

    snooper
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    1,096
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    64
    Ratings:
    +123
    When you first register windows it makes notes of elements of your PC i.e motherboard make and other bits. You could try and say your motherboard is broken hence the new PC build and see if that gets you anywhere. If you don't ask you don't get, worth a try.
     

Share This Page

Loading...