New PC help

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Mac49, Jan 9, 2008.

  1. Mac49

    Mac49
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm thinking of buying a Dell Intel® Viiv™ Core™ 2 Quad-Core Q6600 Processor (2.4GHz, 8MB cache, 1066MHz FSB), the memory is 3072MB 800MHz Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM and the graphics card is 256MB ATI® Radeon™ HD 2600 XT, with 500GB hard drive. For approx £550. Is this a good system? or should I go for a Dual-Core 3GHz processor?
    Any assistance is much appreciated

    Thanks
     
  2. robfosters

    robfosters
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +217
    First question.

    What do you want to do most on the computer?
     
  3. Mac49

    Mac49
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    General use, internet, downloading, gaming
     
  4. robfosters

    robfosters
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +217
    Internet use, photo editing and those sorts of general uses dont need a powerful machine and the one you mention is more than powerful enough. The setup is powerful enough for basic games, but if you want to play games like Crysis and the like, then you may need to upgrade that graphics card.

    Personally, for gaming, I like the 8800GTS 512MB card. Very good performance. Dell may do it, but if you have to go down the ATI route then look for something in the HD3800 range.

    Processor is fine. 2.4 ghz can easily be overclocked to 3ghz anyway, but you wont need to imo. No point on 3GB RAM, no difference in speed between that and 2meg. Then you will still have 2 free slots for more ram if you ever upgrade to 64bit windows. (32 bit version will only recognise 4GB,including video ram).

    Make sure the hard drives are at least 7,200RPM SATA2 drives with a 16MB cache.
     
  5. Mac49

    Mac49
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    How do you go about overclocking the processor?
     
  6. robfosters

    robfosters
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +217
    I'm not sure exactly how it's done, but you can read up and take further advice. One thing I do know, is that you have to monitor the cpu's temperature to avoid overheating and additional cooling may be needed.
     
  7. Mac49

    Mac49
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the assistance, will Crysis run if i get the above machine?
     
  8. robfosters

    robfosters
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +217
    Only on very low settings and even that might be a struggle. Crysis is stupidly demanding on hardware. For a smooth experience on the highest possible settings, you would need a PC with 2 8800GTX cards. If anyone tells you any different, I would say they are wrong.

    However, 1 8800GT card could run Crysis on decent settings. However, the card in that system would give a rather unrewarding experience.
     

Share This Page

Loading...