New PC for photo editing

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by storari1, Jul 6, 2015.

  1. storari1

    storari1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi guys,

    Hoping you can give some advice please on a desktop to be used almost exclusively for photo editing i.e. Photoshop.

    I've just spent over £3,000 on a camera and lenses so I need a PC (Windows based) which is capable of processing the large image sizes with ease - something my old PC really struggles with.

    My budget is approximately £700 so would anyone please be able to recommend something which would be able to do the job, or what the bare minimum specs should be.

    Any suggestions/links would be hugely appreciated.

    Thanks guys!
     
  2. twist

    twist
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    16,363
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,012
    What camera?
     
  3. icemanonline

    icemanonline
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    7,354
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +2,494
    Chillblast computers, check them out.

    You can build your own or one prebuilt.

    Out call them. You will get a good system for that budget, maybe even a monitor too.

    Ice
     
  4. snerkler

    snerkler
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    21,395
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,138
    I'm a Mac man so I can't really recommend a PC but make sure it has at least 16GB RAM (preferable 32GB), minimum i5 processor (preferably i7), and SSD. Really imoportant is to get a good quality monitor that is capable of full calibration.
     
  5. Strobe

    Strobe
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Messages:
    2,882
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +184
    You can build one yourself with careful budgeting that will be more than up to the task. I use www.novatech.co.uk as they are local to me and have a good reputation. My last build was based on this ... Novatech Barebone Bundle - Intel Core i7 4790K - 16GB DDR3 1600Mhz (2x8gb)- Intel Z97 Chipset Motherboard - Novatech Mid Tower Case & 750W PSU | BB-47904B as I had spare hard drives and windows discs. PCSPECIALIST - Custom PCs, Custom Computers, Custom PC, Desktop PC, Custom Built Computers, Gaming PC also have a good reputation but I've not used them.

    As for minimum spec, I'd go for an i7, 16MB RAM and a beefy branded power supply (600w+). Budget in for Blu-ray or dvd drive, SSD for operating system and HDD for data. Graphics card if you want to do gaming.

    Off the shelf, the Dell XPS 8700 are well regarded and £799 will get you a decent spec model.
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2015
  6. AMc

    AMc
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    7,615
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Near Norwich
    Ratings:
    +4,357
    I've bought Dell Outlet computers for years and years - good quality, 12 months warranty and much cheaper than the main site esp. if you don't mind the outgoing model number.
    You need to keep an eye on the site as the inventory changes regularly with the good stuff going fast and the turkeys hanging around for ages.
    Dell Factory Outlet
     
  7. newbie1

    newbie1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,143
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,852
    I'm with Snerkler - take a look at Mac options.
     
  8. Kei86

    Kei86
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    614
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Location:
    South Wales
    Ratings:
    +600
    I'd avoid apple on principal as you have a limited budget. Spec depends on the image sizes you intend to work with. I have never had any issue working with the images from a 36mp D800/D810 on both an AMD FX 8320 system and an intel i7 4820K system, both with 16GB of RAM. My dell XPS 15 laptop (i7 4702HQ, 16GB RAM) also handles them equally well. Heck even my old AMD phenom II system with 12GB of ram was fine, things just took a few seconds longer than they do now. I only upgraded because it was beginning to show it's age regarding gaming.

    The crunch comes when you try and stitch lots of images together in a panorama. IME with 36mp, somewhere around 20 images is the limit before you use up all 16GB of memory and things grind to a halt. If you use windows and know you want more than 16GB, you will need a professional or ultimate copy rather than one of the basic/home versions.

    Personally, I'd rather spend as little as sensibly possible on the PC as it eats into you camera/lens budget and I really hate skimping on optics. Taking a few seconds longer to load/process an image isn't the end of the world. Just make sure you get enough RAM to work with and disk space to store (and backup) your images. I'd consider either a simple AMD Kaveri FM2 based system or feeling more flush, an i5 4690K. Just remember that a half decent monitor is going to eat ~ 25% of the budget alone.
     
  9. snerkler

    snerkler
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    21,395
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,138
    I kind of agree and disagree. I wouldn't scrimp on the PC per se as you tend to spend a lot of time processing to make your final images look good. What is the point in spending a shed load of money on camera equipment if you can't make a good job in post because your screen is poor etc?
     
  10. cabanatuan

    cabanatuan
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Messages:
    24,312
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,951
    my dell 30inch IPS panel does the job better then a imac screen???
     
  11. snerkler

    snerkler
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    21,395
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,138
    Does it?

    But that wasn't my point, my comment wasn't a mac vs PC thing it was purely stating that you shouldn't scrimp on the PC at the expense of your photos. For example, I'd really struggle to make images good/accurate on my father in law's computer as the screen is pants so a lot of the benefit of my god equipment would go to waste.
     
  12. cabanatuan

    cabanatuan
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Messages:
    24,312
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,951
    yea i know but i was saying that if u have a decent monitor and decent pc build, your good to go and for the record i use a macbook pro for picture editing :)
     
  13. boltlock

    boltlock
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    7,665
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Home
    Ratings:
    +4,248
    And my professional Asus 4K 32" IPS panel blows my old 30 inch Dells out of the water. ;)
     
  14. cabanatuan

    cabanatuan
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Messages:
    24,312
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,951
    lol yea. point is the OP is not limited to only macs having nice screens
     
  15. snerkler

    snerkler
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    21,395
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,138
    Did anyone say that they were? :confused:
     
  16. andrewt9763

    andrewt9763
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +460
    Nice to see someone rating their equipment has highly as you do.
     
  17. snerkler

    snerkler
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    21,395
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,138
    Don't you just love typos ;)
     
  18. Member 79251

    Member 79251
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    13,418
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    ?
    Ratings:
    +2,187
    I vote for building one yourself.

    A few years ago I did my first one and will never go back.

    I would go SSD because you will never look back. Ram is really cheap these days so 16MB would be the minimum for me.

    I would also go USB 3.0 and make sure any card readers that I had could handle the speed.
     
  19. RajP

    RajP
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,062
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Northwood
    Ratings:
    +2,094
    Agree with this.:clap::clap:. but I assume you mean 16GB.. 16MB wouldn't get you much headroom now..:D
     
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2015
  20. Member 79251

    Member 79251
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    13,418
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    ?
    Ratings:
    +2,187
    Yes 16GB not MB like the memory card that sits on my desk.
     
  21. damo_in_sale

    damo_in_sale
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2,879
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +566
    Scan.co.uk are my favourite pc supplier.

    I build my own PCs but wouldn't hesitate to buy a machine off them.

    Personally think your budget is a little low. And do you need a new monitor/s?

    I will never again have a machine who's primary drive is a hdd, ssd all the way. And I would seriously recommend having an additional drive where you store all your media. This way if you have a problem with your OS or just want to upgrade your machine all your pics and videos are safely stored on the secondary drive. And you don't get into a tangle with photos ending up strewn across multiple user accounts.
     
  22. Johnmcl7

    Johnmcl7
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    4,557
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Invermess
    Ratings:
    +1,585
    I'm surprised at the 16GB minimum ram recommendations for Windows, I can appreciate that sort of ram is useful for some usage but on monitoring what my PC uses it's never gone over its 8GB ram even when doing batch photo exports and two simultaneous video encodes. Ram requirements have actually come down over the last couple of iterations of Windows and there's still a surprising amount of applications that are not properly configured to use 64 bit memory spaces.

    Plus ram is one of the easiest upgrades there is (on a PC that allows it) so if budget is reasonably tight I'd spent the money elsewhere such as on SSD's and a monitor as others have mentioned. i really don't find photo processing pushes my system that hard at all, at least with the D750's 24MP files anyway where most of the cores are idling and there's not much memory being used.

    John
     
  23. AMc

    AMc
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    7,615
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Near Norwich
    Ratings:
    +4,357
    I know what you mean - this machine is a lowly Intel Core i3-2130 @ 3.4GHz with 4GB of RAM (Windows 8.1) using a HDD.
    I use it for photo editing in GIMP and while I have a faster i5 processor laptop with 8GB available this is my main machine because it's connected to a nice and not desperately expensive IPS monitor.
    IIRC I paid about £300 for the computer and £150 for the monitor. It's 2 1/2 years old and if I were replacing it I'd spend more and probably go to 8GB but as you say if you're maxing the RAM it's pretty simple to upgrade after the fact and often cheaper than specifying at purchase.
     
  24. snerkler

    snerkler
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    21,395
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,138
    Photoshop is pretty RAM intensive I believe. I didn't say it was a minimum requirement for the software though, just if you're going to get a new computer I'd recommend 16GB as a minimum, but I'm very impatient with computers and can't abide any waiting time whilst and alterations render ;)
     
  25. Johnmcl7

    Johnmcl7
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    4,557
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Invermess
    Ratings:
    +1,585
    It's not that ram intensive and I don't know what you're basing your 16GB minimum ram on - Windows has increasingly improved its memory usage significantly over the last couple of iterations but people seem to still go by the now entirely outdated requirement to double memory every couple of years. One misconception about Windows ram usage is that it's needing more memory because it appears to be using a large amount of memory but from Vista onwards Windows will try to page as much memory as possible but it doesn't actually need it. Also applications can't just use huge amounts of memory even though they appear to, unless they've been properly compiled for it they're likely just wasting it.

    No matter how impatient you are, unused memory simply won't speed up your PC in any way while other hardware will, on a tighter budget a high speed SSD and a faster processor can have significant improvements plus ram is an easy upgrade later on. I don't wait on my PC either but blowing money on more ram when the system is currently not using its full compliment is a waste of money, on the other hand a better SSD and in particular a very high performance processor do have noticeable improvements.

    I'm not in any way claiming there's no point in more memory, there's plenty of applications that will benefit from it but for a budget image editing PC I don't think 16GB should be considered a minimum.

    John
     
  26. snerkler

    snerkler
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    21,395
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,138
    Well we must be reading different resources on how intensive PS is on RAM then :confused: But I agree one of the biggest performance improvements you'll see is from a SSD. I think I mentioned this in my first post, if I didn't I meant to ;)
     
  27. Johnmcl7

    Johnmcl7
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    4,557
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Invermess
    Ratings:
    +1,585
    I'm basing my posts on actual usage from a variety of PC's, the general trend is for sites to still recommend doubling the ram based on a misunderstanding of how NT6 systems use memory, misunderstanding memory leaks (just because a program leaks memory doesn't mean it's taking advantage of it) and the assumption that memory should be doubled every couple of years even though that trend hasn't been happening for several years. The OP hasn't mentioned anything which needs 16GB minimum and certainly not 32GB, if they change the use of the PC in the future they can expand the memory and if the cost isn't too much it's worth leaving ram slots empty by doubling up the others to make expansion easier.

    John
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2015
  28. boltlock

    boltlock
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    7,665
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Home
    Ratings:
    +4,248
    Minimum requirements for PS CC 2015. Even though it'll run, I reckon you'll be watching the hourglass quite a lot with these specs.

    Photoshop CC 2015 system requirements

    Windows

    • Intel® Core 2 or AMD Athlon® 64 processor; 2 GHz or faster processor
    • Microsoft Windows 7 with Service Pack 1 or Windows 8.1
    • 2 GB of RAM (8 GB recommended)
    • 2 GB of available hard-disk space for 32-bit installation; 2.1 GB of available hard-disk space for 64-bit installation; additional free space required during installation (cannot install on removable flash storage devices)
    • 1024x768 display (1280x800 recommended) with 16-bit color and 512 MB of VRAM (1 GB recommended)*
    • OpenGL 2.0–capable system
    • Internet connection and registration are necessary for required software activation, validation of subscriptions, and access to online services.**
     
  29. snerkler

    snerkler
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    21,395
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +12,138
    Thanks. I know those are the minimum requirements, but I've watched and read a load of tutorials and numerous have said how RAM intensive it is. Not saying that's definitely right, just what I've read/watched.
     
  30. Johnmcl7

    Johnmcl7
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    4,557
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Invermess
    Ratings:
    +1,585
    I'd say Adobe recommending 8GB of memory *is* ram intensive at least for a photo editing package but as I've said already, Windows will try and page all available memory (it's released if anything else needs it) which gives a misleading impression on how much ram is actually required for those that don't understand its memory system.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List

Share This Page

Loading...