• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

New Panasonic TX-P42G10. First impressions and a couple of questions

Menoetius

I took the plunge last week and treated myself to a TX-P42G10. :thumbsup:
I had been using a 28" Panasonic CRT for the last 7 or 8 years and the time had come. After all, over the last 2 years or so, my home cinema set up has had a complete overhaul.
My Arcam / PMC set up deserved a screen to do it justice. Escpecially my Arcam DV139. I was itching to see what it could do when upscaled to 1080P.

I must say that I'd been delaying upgrading the CRT because of my concerns over SD picture quality. This seems to be an issue for many fellow forum members. And understandably so. So over the last few weeks I did my homework. Shopped around, checking out the options. I read various online reviews and kept an eye on the threads in this forum.

The end result? A new TV that I'm really happy with.:)

A fairly good deal too I reckon. £760 with a 5 year warranty.
Chances are that a lot of you will probably think I should have got the 46" or 50", given that I sit about 11 feet from the telly. But it sits inside a fireplace. Here's a pic taken around 2 years ago

panasonic.jpg

I could have got a 46" in there but I felt the 42" would ensure that the whole of the screen would be visible for anyone viewing from the seats to the left and right of the room. This has proved to be the case. With the screen about 7 inches into the fireplace everyone has a great view (I'll post a pic when I can).

My thoughts so far:

SD quality?