New OLED or???

CarloStewart

Standard Member
Hi everyone.

I've been a serial lurker for a while but decided to sign up and get some expert (well to me anyway) advice :).

I'm a complete newbie to TV's and I've fried my brain over the past few months trying to decide which TV to buy?? Hoping you could maybe help me out!

When I initially began looking I was interested in the SUHD's, but upon searching I stumbled across these 'new technology' OLED TV's. Well, that was it, I was set on getting an OLED TV then but was back to the life of scouring the internet for which was best....to no avail lol. Now, I am thinking again...maybe actually a SUHD would be better although I still think I have my heart set on the 950v. ARGHHHHH!!!!

I have a budget of around £2000+/- and I will be using the TV basically for Gaming on PS4, and the girlfriend will make most use of the SkyHD. We don't watch blu-rays, so any high-def content will come from Netflix or Amazon.

Should I wait for after CES for potential price-drops?

Id like the TV to be about 55", 4k and HDR so it's future-proofed.

And finally; is input lag really -THAT- big of a deal? Is the difference between 30ms and 55ms really going to make any difference?

Hope you can help me before I finish tearing my hair and and attack somebody elses! :D

Thanks

raymondo77

Distinguished Member
If you don't need to buy right now, then I'd recommend holding off. Otherwise, the OLED is really great at times, but can be shockingly awful at others. Read the many, many, many discussions on this forum to discover why, and then it's up to you to decide if it's worth dropping a couple of grand on it.

As much as I hate my 950 at times, personally I don't think I could go back to an LCD though. For what it's worth, I hated the JS9000 (last year's second "best" SUHD).

ricki1980