1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Nvidia card has interesting features for HTPC

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Da_Rude_Baboon, Jun 27, 2005.

  1. Da_Rude_Baboon

    Da_Rude_Baboon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    492
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +55
    I was reading the review of the new 7800GTX at HTPCnews and there where some interesting highlights. First of all its offically ISF certified and the new Nvidia driver lets you adjust the screen size to help prevent overscan. In simple terms, no more powerstrip related head aches.

    Full story here
     
  2. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +33
    From what I read all the Latest range are also ISF certified and the new drivers add better resolution features
     
  3. GrahamC

    GrahamC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    2,258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Morecambe, U.K.
    Ratings:
    +67
    But £400........... just so you don't have to use Powerstrip. :thumbsdow
     
  4. Werner

    Werner
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    is it just me who doesnt use powerstrip, but actually uses the built in nvidia equivalent?

    within the nvidia drivers there is a custom resolution tab, where you can set advanced timings (stuff like the usual front porch, back porch etc)

    with this I can run my tv through a vga-->rgb circuit at 720x576 at 25hz exactly.
    No need for powerstrip.

    and this is with a geforce 4mx440...no need for fancy graphics card that cost more that a lithuanian village.
     
  5. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +33
    It aint just you :)
     
  6. mrmoo

    mrmoo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    515
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    I use it as well, also the overscan compensation.
     
  7. Werner

    Werner
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hmmm...possibly powerstrips best kept secret is the fact that you dont need it?
    :D
     
  8. jon stallard

    jon stallard
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Totally agree Werner. When I read what powerstrip can do (and I tried it once..... just the once as the old joke goes) and i think the nvidia set up screens offer everything I want but in a more easily understood manner..

    What surprised me was that when I first hooked up a hi def source (using component) I got a whole new set of dialog boxes that came up specifically for Hi Def which included an over/underscan feature. And all that is outside of the MCE2005 environment too.

    Jon.
     
  9. DLPMaybe

    DLPMaybe
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    933
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +52
    I tried the built in nVidia advanced timing settings. They worked but every time I restart it forgets them.
     
  10. MikeTV

    MikeTV
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Messages:
    7,781
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ealing, London
    Ratings:
    +843
    I guess its a step in the right direction, but I'd just be content not to have to reboot whenever I added a new resolution! I can't help thinking it is ABOUT FREAKING TIME that graphics drivers supported high def displays natively - after all these displays have been around for many years now (at least in the US). And don't even talk to me about upgading my graphics drivers... more head aches! :suicide:
     

Share This Page

Loading...