new new new....!

Nickffc

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi All

i have tried to find a newbie section.....so apologies if i didn't look hard enough...!!

once again a newbie here and just need pointing in the right direction so i can read up on home cinema stuff..... i know absolutely nothing apart from i want one.... home cinema that is...!

shopping list

projector
screen
av amp
speakers

currently have

50" Panasonic plasma 2 years old for general telly watching.
2 year old dvd/surround sound which needs chucking out
sky hd
ps3 used loads

the projector will be mainly used for film nights and some ps3 action...

only have a £500 budget for the projector to start with and would like 1080p or 720 if i had too.... and looking at the budget that might be the way to go.....

so.... i need to find the best option and learn some lingo.....!!

cheers

Nick

The usual recommendation for a budget projector is Optoma. I've seen the HD67 for £350 at Richer Sounds. My mate has the older version and it's a cracker. The GT750 would also be worth a look.

The projectors forum is your best bet.

If you want 1080p and have £500 occasionally you will see Optoma HD200x for £599 new or around £450-£500 second hand or as a refurb model.

This is about the cheapest (though a good pj) 1080p machine available.I would strongly recommend going for 1080p if possible especially if viewing bluray.

You can go with a new cheap starter amp from Onkyo/Yamaha/Denon for £150-£200 or get a used higher end model for the same sort of money.There are always plenty for sale in the classifieds.

The wharefdale diamond 9.0 speakers are a real bargain at the moment and Richers are knocking them out at £39 a pair so 3 pairs of those would do you a 6.0 set up with only a subwoofer to add.

Wharfedale DIAMOND 9.0 Black | Speakers Per Pair | Richer Sounds

Use a wall for the screen if you have one available that is painted white or a light colour.

thanks chaps.....