New new lens for 400D to take pics of Race of champions!

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by hmsq, Sep 10, 2007.

1. hmsq

hmsq

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +50
    Hi all,
    It's that time of the year where I have to spend some money and upgrade my camera!

I'm going this December to race of champions and i need a lens to take some pics of the cars, been reading about this one CanonEF 70-300mm f4-5.6 IS USM but aren't sure if it will be right for me taking pics of cars going vrroom really fast:rotfl:

I also like take pics of of scenery or statues so from what i can gather that one is good. I'm still a total noob seem to spend less and less time with the camera!
    Anyway going this week up to Scotland to get intimate with the camera:eek: hopefully will get nice pics with it! Still using the kit lens so i know i won't lol :D

Thanks in advance!:clap:

2. stevegreen

stevegreen

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +921
    There is no reason why that lens won't let you get good images of the cars, good focal length ensures you can get close. I would probably invest in a monopod though just to ensure you can be as steady as possible whilst panning. Probably worth getting some practise on pannin too as it's not easy, easpecially if the cars are going particularly fast (position yourself at a slow corner if you wnat to give yourself the best opportunity)

The kit lens is actually not that bad if you stop it down to around f/8 or so if you are photographing statues and the like this should be fine and givesome pleasing results :smashin:

3. hmsq

hmsq

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +50
    Thanks Steve will try that! Gonna see how i get on this week with the camera and the kit, got myself a good book on DSLR, so we will see what i get! Hopefully the lady will let me take pics! :thumbsup:

4. timus

timus

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +216