1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Motherboard??

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by chuckalicious, Sep 20, 2005.

  1. chuckalicious

    chuckalicious
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hoping someone can help me:

    Does anyone know of any Micro ATX Socket A motherboards, which preferably have an FBS of 200 (400)Mhz with onboard sound which has a SPDIF output?

    I know it sounds like a tall order, but I'm having terrible trouble with my current sound card and am beginning to wonder if it's my motherboard, locking IRQs to PCI slots. So I think I'm better off with a mobo with a built in spdif.

    I have to be able to get it in the UK

    Thanks
     
  2. chuckalicious

    chuckalicious
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    And I should have said, I already have the Abit-VA20 :)
     
  3. tinoest

    tinoest
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    930
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    N-Force 2 Solutions are what you are looking for.

    Biostar M7NCG 400

    GIGABYTE 7VM400M-RZ

    Albatron KM18G Pro

    Epox 8RGMI SKT A Nforce

    There is a MSI one and an ASUS one but I cant remember the model names and Google isn't finding them.
     
  4. chuckalicious

    chuckalicious
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Cheers. Great help
     
  5. chuckalicious

    chuckalicious
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Just looking at the Biostar one...

    It says it has a SPDIF header, which would mean you have to plug something into that header. Where would I get such a thing, or are there any that have the port already on the motherboard, instead of a headeR?
     
  6. tinoest

    tinoest
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    930
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    There are some that have a port instead of a header the Gigabyte and the MSI ne i know have an port on the back. I would recommend the MSI one as I used to have it just can't remember the number. Now looking for it.

    MSI K7N2GM2-LSR SOCKET A NFORCE2
     
  7. Jim_Fear

    Jim_Fear
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,799
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Caterham
    Ratings:
    +59
    A7N8X-VM/400 perhaps?

    You'd be kind of hard pressed to find decent Socket A motherboard now, Socket A was retired a few months ago and I think production of the motherboards has pretty much grinded to a halt
     
  8. tinoest

    tinoest
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    930
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    The Header's you can just buy seperatly from Ebuyer,Scan,etc

    They should come with one in the box tho if you buy new.
     
  9. Dunkwho

    Dunkwho
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2001
    Messages:
    531
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Dunstable
    Ratings:
    +24
    Just been through a similar thing and had a gigabyte 7vm400 delivered this week (still in its box at home :( ). The asus a7s8x I already have is great and has an spdif phono socket on the back panel in place of an rs232 socket ... but the soundmax drivers just don't like mce and I've not been able to get a stable system that'll give me dd\dts for dvd playback (I've had stable, and I've had dd\dts ... but not together ! :) ). The gigabyte also has 3 pci sockets over the asus's 2 just incase I need to go for a pci soundcard as a get-out-of-jail. The gigabyte is 333 not 400 tho ... I went for the am-rz model for £36+del from microdirect (am = sata too). Shame, the asus was rock stable and didn't need any leads\backplate for spdif ... nice idea for a htpc mobo - works fine with non-mce apps apparently.

    Duncan
     
  10. chuckalicious

    chuckalicious
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    This just get's more complicated!!!

    Beginning to wish I'd put more money into it and got a 64Bit AMD or a P4 :(

    Too late now. Maybe I should try an elcheapo SOund Card with a spdif first, might be easier to find and I won't cry as much if it doesn't work either :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...