New Motherboard with HDMI

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by bigmondy, Apr 18, 2007.

  1. bigmondy

    bigmondy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Messages:
    475
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Strathblane
    Ratings:
    +6
  2. tim_kay

    tim_kay
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The 690g is ok, but a bit of a contradiction in terms, theres a few on the market including an Asus version.

    The thing is, it has hdmi, and hdcp, however it just isn't powerful enough to base a high def machine on. For £50 its not bad, but nowhere in the league of a 7600gt or even an x1600, which both can be found with HDCP for around 60-70.
     
  3. arfster

    arfster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,459
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +132
    Still, if you buy a fast enough processor, you won't need hardware acceleration at all - for Bluray/HDDVD, it just creates lots quality problems.

    Add a 4600+ for £75ish, and that board can play all HDDVDs and Blurays in software mode.
     
  4. sideysid

    sideysid
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    471
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +31
    I'd seriously look at the Abit Fatal1ty F-I90HD, for an all-in-one solution for a HTPC.

    Its currently got the best intergrated graphics of any MATX mobo, ALC885 HDCP protected 7.1 audio, HDMI, and can take a quad core.

    Get it for £67 delivered using the google checkout deal through Ebuyer at the mo.
     
  5. NaTT

    NaTT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,123
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Abbots Langley
    Ratings:
    +77
    I take it this doesn't do audio over HDMI and if it does, its just routing SPDIF sound over the HDMI interface and not full bandwidth 8 channel LPCM TrueHD type sound?
     
  6. bigmondy

    bigmondy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Messages:
    475
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Strathblane
    Ratings:
    +6
    Tks for the reply's guys!

    Abit Fatal1ty F-I90HD £74.68 inc VAT looks to be worth the sheckles!
     
  7. sideysid

    sideysid
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    471
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +31
    We can only hope - Im waiting for mine and have yet to see.

    On Abits website it quotes the HDMI falls under the v1.2 specification, and that alongside the ALC885 chipset hopefully will live up to expectation.

    If not I imagine it would be a SPDIF passthrough as you say...
     
  8. sidler

    sidler
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    83
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +7
    will this motherboard tied in with a E6420 processor be able to handle x264 files?
    reason i'm asking is that i've heard the Radeon Xpress 1250 GPU isnt powerful enough to handle it?
    I'm getting really confused trying to build a high spec HTPC
    I just need somthing with HDMI HD sound/graphics/video and enough power to do some video editing now and again
     
  9. bigmondy

    bigmondy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Messages:
    475
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Strathblane
    Ratings:
    +6
    I have been in the same confused state for around 6 months now!

    You are in good company!:suicide:
     
  10. rhinoman

    rhinoman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,669
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +41
    Can anyone tel me if this board supports "wake from USB"?

    Cheers
     
  11. arfster

    arfster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,459
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +132
    Yes - downloaded x264 stuff will run extremely easily regardless of the graphics card. For example, playing an x264 file of a certain high-budget- island-based-drama-with-flashbacks-and-Others :D on my e4300 running at 2ghz resulted in about 30% CPU with ffdshow (which can't use graphics card acceleration at all). The e6420 is 2.13ghz and has double the cache, so it'll be slightly better than that.

    If you're meaing h264 as in the format for some HD-DVD/Bluray discs (x264 is encoding software, h264 is the file standard it encodes in), using PowerDVD 7.3 it will just manage the highest bitrate discs - eg 70% average, 85% peak.

    For other HDDVD/BD formats, eg VC1 and MPEG2, it'll run them in its sleep.

    It also overclocks insanely, easily to 3ghz without changing voltage, and anywhere in the region 3.5-3.8ghz if you crank up the voltage and have a good air cooler.
     
  12. dmce

    dmce
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    355
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +33
    Are you outputting 1080P?
     
  13. arfster

    arfster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,459
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +132

    1280*1024 to a monitor, and 1080p to the HDTV.
     
  14. sidler

    sidler
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    83
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +7
    Thanks arfster :thumbsup:
    First piece in the puzzle complete

    E6420 Processor

    I've got the case sorted out too

    HD160B Home Theatre PC Enclosure

    Can anyone recommend a decent ATX motherboard with a HDMI output and HD sound, HDCP etc?

    cheers

    ....this is still driving me round the bend
     
  15. dmce

    dmce
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    355
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +33
    You should consider the AMD 690G chipset boards. I think the Asus M2A-VM HDMI and the Sapphire PI-AM2RS690MHD are two of the better ones, but there are a lot. This chipset is also known as the ATi Radeon X1250.

    There is also an intel version, which is obviously more appropriate if ur buying the C2D cpu. The only board im aware of that uses this chipset is the mentioned Abit F-I90HD. However i have heard that a large number of the first revisions of these boards are failing. Im sure i read this on anandtech, where one guy who retails has pulled it from sale.

    There is also the nVidia MCP68 which has HDMI. IT has been delayed though for a month or two. This is for AMD CPUs. The intel version is the MCP73 but thats about all i can tell you and im not even sure on that.
     
  16. Synchro

    Synchro

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Messages:
    6,009
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chester
    Ratings:
    +1,543
    Some good info in this thread, let us know how you get on with your builds.
     
  17. tim_kay

    tim_kay
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Arfster what software/drivers are you using on your 690g chipset board for Bluray playback at such plausable run speeds?

    Our research did not find such plausable findings without hardware acceleration.

    Can you confirm using a direct IDE high def drive, and not capped/re-encoded rips, which of course will play on the 690g, ref: .ts, .x264 etc. This may mis-lead members into going into a high def player route and the 690g not peforming as stated.

    Also which driver package for the gpu did you use, we found hdcp to be a large problem in earlier driver builds, the only stable drivers being the higher end ati/nvidia pureviedeo.

    Also the fact you are not using any dvd to bypass? Also which software you are using to play the high def content? And also confirmation of res change conversion on a 1080p screen.
     
  18. arfster

    arfster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,459
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +132
    I'm not using a 690g at all - since you don't need hardware acceleration it doesn't really matter what motherboard you're using.

    See here for some graphs of cpu usage with various cards:

    http://www.hardspell.com/english/doc/showcont.asp?news_id=385&pageid=445

    The 3800+ is not quite enough for h264 Bluray - at the bottom it shows 95.8%, and as that's an average it'll struggle with peaks. Thus you need a little bit more: a 4400+ will be fine, or a Core2Duo 2ghz (which is what I have). I've done a whole lot of tests on these for another forum, can dig them out if anyone needs.

    That's h264 of course, VC1 is much easier. For example, Serenity on a C2D at 2ghz just now averages 45% for me (Vista, 100.65, PowerDVD 7.3, xbox usb drive). Overclocked to 3ghz with the 7300GT helping it's down around half that.

    There have been two major developments here since the first big articles (eg Anandtech) came out on HDDVD playback:

    1) The PowerDVD decoders have improved a lot.
    2) The 8500/8600 - if you look at that hardspell article above, they show h264 Bluray playing on a Sempron 1.6ghz at 15% CPU (although oddly enough you need more cpu for VC1, because the 8500/8600 only accelerate that about the same as the 7xxx series).
     
  19. Synchro

    Synchro

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Messages:
    6,009
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chester
    Ratings:
    +1,543
    Tim_Kay, would you be able to provide me with a link to your retail outlet? PM me if you don't want to post in here.
     
  20. Synchro

    Synchro

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Messages:
    6,009
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chester
    Ratings:
    +1,543
    arfster, have you put your specs in the Vista specs thread, linked in my sig? If not could you as I'm building my HDHTPC at the mo and I'd be really interested in what you've done so far.

    Assuming it is Vista?
     
  21. tim_kay

    tim_kay
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  22. mephistopheles

    mephistopheles
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have seen 4x1GB GEIL Value 666Mhz RAM (@ less than £85/2GB!!) 4:4:4:12 and E6600 used with this board for a stable o/c at 368MHz. That's FSB 1.472GHz!!

    Not bad going for a cheap little mATX system.
     

Share This Page

Loading...