new mother board+processor+ddr

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by fatrich, Nov 11, 2002.

  1. fatrich

    fatrich
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2001
    Messages:
    2,613
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    halifax
    Ratings:
    +53
    After viewing the hd3 card over the weekend i think its best to upgrade to Win Xp this week, from what a few other members have mentioned on various forums should i install the SP-1 pack (services Pack) or not just there has been a few issues with region killer not working properly.

    My main point is since ive spent a lot of pennies on the Hd3 card and the Sdi modden denon i may as well upgrade my mother board to a Intel based one and a pentium based processor and ddr (bloody expensive), can any of you hd3 card owners tell me what boards and processors u are using or recommend and what offers best value for money.

    cheers

    richard
     
  2. Steve Bate

    Steve Bate
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    680
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Tarporley
    Ratings:
    +11
    Richard,

    A lot depends on how much you intend to use dscaler, I use a PIII 1.13Ghz tualatin with a TUSL2-C mobo and it's plenty man enough for the job. Dscaler is quite processor intensive tho'.

    I also have not put SP1 on it as it worked fine without and it's just going to be a dedicated scaler. I have disabled a lot of tyhe services to reduce the XP "overhead" tho'.

    Steve

    PS I've posted a reply on immersive re the other problem.
     
  3. Tim Cooper

    Tim Cooper
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2000
    Messages:
    2,858
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Laindon Essex
    Ratings:
    +96
    Hi Steve,
    Having just upgraded to win xp for my HCPC could you tell me what services you disabled.
    Cheers
    Tim

    P.S how's it hangin Rich? sorry to hijack your thread;)
     
  4. Steve Bate

    Steve Bate
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    680
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Tarporley
    Ratings:
    +11
    Tim I used the recommendations here and followed the advice "if you're not sure set to manual", you'll soon find which ones are needed ;)

    Steve
     
  5. fatrich

    fatrich
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2001
    Messages:
    2,613
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    halifax
    Ratings:
    +53
    Tim
    U can hi-jack my threads any time (youve already picked my pockets once) LOL:D ;)

    Tim and steve my mobo is in and i will be wipping it this morning and adding XP pro, should i include the sp-1 , just ive heard rumours from one or two folk that it had a problem with region killer (which i still want to keep as a back up for the tt player ect.

    Steve
    keep roland in bacon butties and coffee cos he works quicker;)

    cheers

    rich
     
  6. Steve Bate

    Steve Bate
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    680
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Tarporley
    Ratings:
    +11
    LOL, He's due at 11:00ish so too late for bacon butties, just in time for Pizza tho'

    I made the mistake of playing with my HTPC this morning and ended up having to re-install H3D, a bit panicky for about 30mins, there wouldn't have been much image to show :eek:

    Good luck with the install.

    Steve
     
  7. fatrich

    fatrich
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2001
    Messages:
    2,613
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    halifax
    Ratings:
    +53
    Steve
    i hope it goes ok with the install, please pass my regards on to Roland.Let me know when i can come over to have a demo

    cheers

    richard
     
  8. fatrich

    fatrich
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2001
    Messages:
    2,613
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    halifax
    Ratings:
    +53
    Tim
    just out of interest who bnc modded your graphics card?

    cheers

    richard
     
  9. Tim Cooper

    Tim Cooper
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2000
    Messages:
    2,858
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Laindon Essex
    Ratings:
    +96
    Wotcha Rich,
    Me & my mate did it he did the soldering though i just "directed him";)
    I think Mark Grant does the BNC mod & i think he also does the rf filter removal as well, give him a shout.
    Give me first refusal on your new kit when your pi**ed off with it;)
    Cheers
    Tim
     
  10. Tim Cooper

    Tim Cooper
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2000
    Messages:
    2,858
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Laindon Essex
    Ratings:
    +96
    Steve,
    Thanks for the info...if you have your HCPC running nicely with the relevant services disabled,any chance of posting them,or is the tweak page instuctions quite straight forward??
    Tim
     
  11. rhinoman

    rhinoman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,631
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    Fatrinch


    should i install the SP-1 pack (services Pack) or not just there has been a few issues with region killer not working properly.

    I've got this combination and it all seems to work fine, it alows you disable/uninstall messenger and outlook express, then go into msconfig and set everthing that it looks like you dont need to manual and if your fealling brave go into regedit and remove stuff like the messenger entries and print and fax stuff etc.:cool:

    Maybe run Ghost first though incase you go too far.;)
     
  12. Steve Bate

    Steve Bate
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    680
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Tarporley
    Ratings:
    +11
    Tweak page is very staightforward, I looked at all of the services if I was unsure I checked it as manual so it would ask me before starting. So far no probs.

    Steve
     
  13. fatrich

    fatrich
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2001
    Messages:
    2,613
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    halifax
    Ratings:
    +53
    well got every thing loaded on and it looks ok with xp, a lot better than win me, the test will be tonight on the big bad barco,
    will keep u informed.

    Tim wottcha cock
    can u tell me how do u ghost your settings and is it possible for u or Steve to list wot youve disabled and put in to manuel ,PLEASE.

    CHEERS

    RICH
     
  14. Tim Cooper

    Tim Cooper
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2000
    Messages:
    2,858
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Laindon Essex
    Ratings:
    +96
    Hi Rich,
    First off do you have a XP compatible version of Norton Ghost?
    Is your HCPC drive partitioned? or have a seperate HDD?
    I need to know these to be able to give you instructions.
    Cheers.
    Tim.
     
  15. Tim Cooper

    Tim Cooper
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2000
    Messages:
    2,858
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Laindon Essex
    Ratings:
    +96
    Yo Rich,
    Still Waiting for yer m8ty :rolleyes:
    Tim
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice