1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New monitor with DVI, should I upgrade the graphics?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Ged, Oct 27, 2005.

  1. Ged

    Ged
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    920
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +17
    Just bought a new, larger (19") LCD/TFT monitor as the room is being refitted and the screen will be further away, my excuse ;) .

    It also has a DVI input, my PC has onboard graphics to a "D" connector only, would a modest outlay to a DVI enabled card show an improvement? I mostly mess on the net and like to store my photos on the PC, no gaming.

    Thanks.
     
  2. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,556
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +296
    I have the option of both on my pc and monitor - I say yes, the upgrade is significantly better - text is sharper and colour more vivid.

    lisa
     
  3. Ged

    Ged
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    920
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +17
    Thanks Lisa, if I buy a new card can I just put it in the PC and it will recognise it or do I have to mess with the BIOS settings? I have never done a card install, only burners etc.

    Ged
     
  4. Skunkpipe

    Skunkpipe
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It will recognise it straight away. Sometimes there's a BIOS setting to set the Gfx Card detection order, but the default tends to be AGP first then PCI then on-board
     
  5. DennisT

    DennisT
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I agree, use the DVI. Much sharper clearer images.

    Changing cards is easy. Just remember to uninstall the drivers for the old card first, or they can sometimes cause problems if your new card is the same make.

    1. uninstall old drivers
    2. change card
    3. install new drivers
    4. re-boot

    Easy as that... have fun.
     
  6. Ged

    Ged
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    920
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +17
    Thanks, now for the silly question....
    Do I go to the System - Hardware section and delete the display driver and if so does the screen still work? I expect alot of people will laugh but I am not sure, so do I delete the driver, turn it off, fit the card then driver and reboot?
    Really sorry for such a noddy question.
     
  7. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    Yes, it'll still work. :)

    Without any drivers Windows uses generic VGA support built into it, which isn't as capable as the installable drivers but work fine to display normal Windows programs (albeit window drawing etc. can be noticeably slower).

    It's the same when you boot into 'safe mode', you have a nearly fully working display system just running slower.
     
  8. Ged

    Ged
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    920
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +17
    Thanks, any recommendations for a cheap DVI card?
     
  9. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    To be honest, if you're not wnating to play games or watch DVDs then any card with DVI will do the job, so go for the cheapest you find .. IMX there are no 'duff' cards equipped with DVI connectors, and again, without needing to consider high-spec games or the fine details of video playback either ATI or NVidia will be fine (in fact, using a 19" LCD even IF you were interested in video playback then the choice of chipset would be moot IMHO).
     
  10. oxygenuk

    oxygenuk
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,644
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +13
    yes especially if you have onboard

    go for a geforce 6200 as thats what i have and its great and it also have dvi input :)
     
  11. Ged

    Ged
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    920
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +17
    Thanks,
    placed an order last night for one of these

    XFX Geforce FX5200 256MB AGP8X Graphic Card with DVI & TV-Out Retail

    for about £40, hopefully should be ok.

    One more question... is an 8ms response fast or slow? Had a bit of discussion at work as to whether lower is faster eg 8 faster than 25 or slower??
     
  12. dan1979

    dan1979
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,520
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +201
    Monitors that have DVI inputs usually have a sub-standard VGA port thrown in as a second thought so it's not actually the magic of DVI giving you better pictures.
     
  13. BenW

    BenW
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    870
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Stansted
    Ratings:
    +17
    Have to say my analogue dell tft going into the vga socket on a radeon 9800 PRO gives lovely sharp text and vivid colours. Took a while to get the colour balance right (Auto on digital monitors) but otherwise its excellent
     
  14. Ged

    Ged
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    920
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +17
    Hi all, the new card arrived, had a go at fitting it and ended uo with constant beeping and no power up. Took out the new card. Ended up disabling something in the display setting and it now only displays during the inital set up, an older hard drive works ok.
    HELP! How do I get the display back? I am going to try a new thread for some help.
     
  15. BenW

    BenW
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    870
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Stansted
    Ratings:
    +17
    Try using the old port, uninstall the drivers then put the new card in the boot up

    Most probably a driver problem
     
  16. Ged

    Ged
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    920
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +17
    Ben the cad is out as the PC wouldn't start and now I cannot see anything past the BIOS set up.
     

Share This Page

Loading...