1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Member To The 9986 Club!

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by bharaket, Feb 7, 2005.

  1. bharaket

    bharaket
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    20
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    :clap: :clap: :clap:
    Just thought I'd let you know I picked my 9986 from JL Reading this afternoon.

    :rotfl: Just having fun setting it up.

    :eek: However I have checked the firmware and it says 2.0. As I am due to purchase a Panny DMRE 85 and hopefully use component leads will this be a problem. The 9986 did come with a set of component leads and an adapter.

    Any help/advise would be greatly appreciated

    Ketan
     
  2. Alan D

    Alan D
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine is a 2.0 and I haven't had any problems.
     
  3. MeloManiac

    MeloManiac
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    87
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +6
    Can you see on the packaging which software revision the TV is shipped with? Maybe I should have my retailer check it before he ships it to me - unless it gets shipped directly from Philips...
     
  4. jimsan

    jimsan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,610
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Dumfries, SW Scotland.
    Ratings:
    +9
    There is no indication on the box or indeed even on the TV itself! You need to access this info from a menu in the TV itself.

    Bummer eh?

    Jimmy
     
  5. shah

    shah
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bharaket have you set your's up using scart from a sky box, and if so have you any sync problems
     
  6. bharaket

    bharaket
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    20
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Alan D.

    :hiya: Shah,

    I've connected my Thomson digibox to the 9986 via a Cambridge Audio Scart to Scart Lead ( 75 Ohm, Double Screened). I got it from Richer Sounds.
    On first impressions I HAVE NOT experienced any synch problems ( only watched a bit of Sky Sports so far).

    Ketan
     
  7. Vorix

    Vorix
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    359
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bracknell
    Ratings:
    +14
    Hi Ketan

    If you don't mind saying, did you get JL to price match against anyone for your set?

    Cheers
     
  8. EffTee

    EffTee
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    196
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +5
    My Dad's new set arrived today. I don't know if you could really count him as a new member as he paid for his first set in October last year and hadn't seen it since November 25th :eek:

    Like others have mentioned his is also a 2.0 firmware. Does anyone know what the difference is between 2.0 and 2.1?

    Anyhow, it works fine with progressive scan via the DVI. I think this set is what E85's were made for :D

    The set has the slight fizzle sound, but none of the annoying humming mentioned in other threads.

    All in all he's now very happy. It's on the wall and just needs the cabling tidied up.

    EffTee
     
  9. Alan D

    Alan D
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Don't know what the difference between v2.0 and v2.1 but luckily both facilitate progressive scan! Slight "fizzle" quite common - and often related to Ambilight (mine is) - I have reduced it by varying the colour/saturation of Ambilight.
     
  10. bharaket

    bharaket
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    20
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Vorix,

    I got JL to price match themselves!

    Once I decided this was the tv I wanted I phoned several JL stores in England & Scotland (phone numbers off their website) to obtain quotes and check whether they were price matching locally. Prices varied considerably (up to £2995 - in store price). JL Watford quoted £1999. JL Glasgow offered the best price (£1937) but would not deliver to London.
    JL Kingston (my nearest store) were dragging their heels but fortunately JL Reading were willing to price match their Glasgow store.
    This happened 3 weeks ago and I picked up the tv this afternoon.

    Hope that helps,

    Ketan
     
  11. jimsan

    jimsan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,610
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Dumfries, SW Scotland.
    Ratings:
    +9
    Firmware Numbers:

    The origional sets manufactured up until Mid September were v1.3.
    Sets manufactured from Mid September onwards are v2.1.
    v1.3 sets returned to Philips for upgrade get the v2.0.

    How does that sound? This was my origional thought a couple of weeks ago and EffTee's experiences with his dads upgrade promote this theory. I suspect that the v2.0 is exactly the same as the v2.1 but can't be so classified as they are subcontracted upgrades.

    Jimmy
     
  12. bharaket

    bharaket
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    20
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Jimmy,

    You're probably right. I e-mailed Philips Consumer Care and although they confirmed a firmware version of 2.0 will handle progressive scan thet would not say how it differed fron a V 2.1. I quote....

    "With regards to your query we can advise that all the models that have
    installed Firmware V 2.0 and later they can accept progressive scan
    signal without a problem.
    However if your TV Set has older firmware version then you should
    contact with your retailer in order your TV Set to be send to the
    Service dealer for an upgrade.

    We trust that the information provided will be of assistance and
    should you require further advice please do not hesitate to contact us
    again quoting your customer reference number

    Kind regards,

    Philips Customer Care"

    Ketan
     
  13. bharaket

    bharaket
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    20
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Got my Panny DMRE 85 yesterday :clap:

    Connected to tv via component and watched The Bourne Supremacy last night - awesome picture quality :D

    Ketan
     
  14. Vorix

    Vorix
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    359
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bracknell
    Ratings:
    +14
    Thanks for that - doesn't sound like they're very joined up in their pricing policy, does it? It was £2299 on display at JL Reading when I went in last week. Looks like I may be making some phone calls tomorrow.
     
  15. Pompey_Lad

    Pompey_Lad
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im thinking of going for this LCD in summer, and ive seen it recently for as little as £1800 and some change. Do the back lights actually reduce eye strain?
     
  16. Rob1698

    Rob1698
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The back lights are nice, their effect is especially apparent when you turn them off.

    I would not set my mind on buying this specific set in 5-6 months time, the market has probably changed again by then....
     
  17. Pompey_Lad

    Pompey_Lad
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Personally though this is just a stop gap purchase, im in the process of putting funds by for a complete home cinema, however, i need something to scratch my itch until those funds become available :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...