1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Member - Simple Questions (I hope!)

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by cavehomme, Oct 22, 2002.

1. cavehomme

cavehomme

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,
    I am completely new to DVDs - have not bought one yet but on the verge of buying a Pioneer DV-350 (although this is possibly not significant to my questions). I am however 'old' to Hi-Fi stereo systems and want to utilise my existing hi-fi system for the DVD sound output rather than spending additional money on a new amplifier compatible with Dolby 5.1 etc. I am a bit lost on some of the technical issues at the moment and found this site today, and i would really appreciate if anyone can give me a guiding hand just to get me over the initial hurdles, which are the following questions -

1) if I buy a DVD movie in say France, but it shows that it also has English language in Dolby 5.1, does that mean I can only get English if I output the sound to a 5.1 amplifier, or can I also get English if I output to a standard stereo hi-fi amplifier ? Basically I don't understand the significance of 6-channel sound to 2-channel sound in relation to language selection and I am fearing that the extra language is on the extra sound channel, which if I only have 2-channel amplifier then I can't get English....or is the 6-channel sound compressed to 2 channel sound and the language is a seperate matter? (Hope this makes sense).

2) If RGB output is available via SCART, then is a special SCART RGB cable needed or are all DVD scart cables support RGB by default ?

Many thanks in anticipation.

2. Reiner

Reiner

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +13