New Mac owner - please help!!

Fat_Tony

Distinguished Member
Reaction score
Hi folks,

After recently coming back to Apple on my phone, I picked up a Macbook Pro retina in the Apple store in Belfast on Thursday, somewhat impulsively. I have never used a Mac before but the option to return it within a week or two if its not for me swung it, I'm sure it will be a big improvement but I now have to master the basics as quickly as possible.

I have done plenty of research, and picked up an "idiots guide" but I'm still struggling a bit.

All my iTunes data was already on an external hard drive, and so far I can't seem to get it to connect with my Macbook. I had to copy all the data to my windows PC hard drive, I have formatted the external drive to Fat (?) I think it was called. Its now recognised on the Mac, but not on the PC.

Im sure ill have loads of questions but initially, how do I get the 50gb of data back onto my external hard drive? I tried putting it on a memory stick but that doesn't work either, wrong format again I'm assuming?

I really want this to work out, I love the idea of the Mac and I'm picking up bits and pieces quite easily, I just need to get it up and running properly asap so I can determine if its a keeper or not.

Thanks in advance

Thanks, I've formatted the hard drive following the instructions here:

Format a disk to use on both Mac and PC | How to | Softonic

It says it doesn't support files larger than 4 GB. Is that individually or in total?

Can I just grab the 50gb iTunes data folder and copy it onto the hard drive as no files are anywhere near 4gb - or will I have to do them in batches under 4gb? I hope I explained that properly, and please excuse the bold type - not sure what I've done there... :)

I think 4GB is one file.
You could copy the files over or follow this guide...

Thanks again