1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Loewe 32" Xelos and Concept LCD - Anyone got one yet??

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by Phil from 62, Jun 16, 2005.

  1. Phil from 62

    Phil from 62
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Messages:
    59
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all :hiya:

    I have been looking into the LCD market and have been looking very seriuosly at the new Loewe range of Xelos A32 or Concept 32.

    Is there anyone out there who has bought either? What are they like? Do they meet expectations? I have looked at them in House of Fraser...but difficult to judge in a open shop enviroment with the same TV feed being fed through about 25+ screens.
    If like other Loewe's they will be exceptional all rounders.

    Some real Comments, opinions, feedback from the coalface is always best.

    Thanks!
     
  2. ianh64

    ianh64
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    SW London/Surrey borders
    Ratings:
    +63
    Unfortuntely that is not an assumption that may not hold true. Apparently Loewe got in quite a bit of financial difficulty and Sharp now own a significant part of Loewe. This, and technology deals means that you can not be 100% that you are buying a Loewe, or a Sharp for that matter. It is very much like Bosch and Hotpoint whitegoods. You can buy a Bosch that is really a rebadged Hotpoint and a Hotpoint that is made in the Bosch factory in Germany with German parts.

    I am not saying that Sharp, Hotpoint or Ford are poor brands, but if you thought that you were buying a BMW and got a Ford wouldn't you be pretty peeved?

    How this relates to the Loewe/Sharp product lineup is not clear, other than Loewe will be making some of the higher end Sharp products and Sharp will be building loewe products at the lower end. However, some of the latter Sharp models have Loewe technology and there is printed evidence some Loewe 'A' series models having printed circuit boards made by Sharp. Obviously this technology does not have to be just hardware. It is very possible that electronics could be completely shared between both brands but the software being quite different and this could still make a significant difference in product quality.

    -Ian
     
  3. s3marc

    s3marc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Messages:
    134
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    you may want to go into 'Chew and Osbourne' in Epping , they have the a32 and a26 on display and can feed it a HD DVD source (upsampled), and you will see what the tv is capable of. I wouldnt recommend buying from them as they are expensive, but very helpful.

    I bought an A32 and I am still getting to grips with it, as with all LCD tvs getting the picture colour/contrast/brightness/colour gain etc... just right is not the easiest.

    I bought mine from TVandVideoDirect.com and they send a qualified Loewe engineer to install the tv (and believe me this is very useful, as they go into the service menu and tinker with bits that you should never go near!)

    Sound on the Loewe is very good for an LCD tv (they can struggle due to the limited depth of an LCD box) , and build quality is excellent.

    Feel free to ask any questions you may have.


    Marc
     
  4. Phil from 62

    Phil from 62
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Messages:
    59
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Marc
    Thanks for the info. :thumbsup:
    Please let me know how you get on with the A32...I'll be very interested.
    Either email me, send a message through the forum system or post here. At least by posting here you will give others the benefit of your experiances.

    thanx
    Phil
     
  5. Phil from 62

    Phil from 62
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Messages:
    59
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi :hiya:
    Do I take it that no one else out there has one of these models????

    For information I have had a demo of a Xelos A32 and A26 and insisted on a Terestrial TV and Freeview Demo....and I tell you, in my opinion, the picture quality is pretty good. I would say its 90/95 % that of a CRT. As for the DVD picture (which was via component) that was fantastic....and that was only on a mid range DVD player.

    The fact that they are now part owned by Sharp (see post above dated 17/06/05 - 8-13 am) does not really worry me. Sharp actually have a 29% share in Loewe. Sharp have always supplied Loewe with the actual Liquid Crystal Displays anyway....as they do with many other manufacturers. I believe the Sharp input can only help Loewe's presence in the market place.

    So I'm on the verge of getting one from my local AV specialist....they may not be the cheapest, but they will come round set it up, re-set up my entire system, check it is working to its full potential and give me 12months interest free.

    I'm still interested in other users out there and their opinions.

    Phil
     
  6. s3marc

    s3marc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Messages:
    134
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hi,

    When researching mine, there were a few other Loewe owners out there, but most people buy the Tv and are presumably happy with it, so don't carry on posting and looking at this site.

    By the way, I have now reached a good colour setting with my A32 now and most of the time faces now look real !

    Most people tend to post here when they haven't got a TV, or have a problem with a particular model, or are trying to do something a bit different (connecting xbox via hd, pc using a strange resolution/graphics card etc....)

    I think there is a review of the A32 in this months LCD and Plasma magazine, so I would expect a few more questions on this forum and possibly new owners - I would like to think that it will get a pretty good rating from the mag.

    Marc
     
  7. Wild Rumpus

    Wild Rumpus
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Erskine
    Ratings:
    +2
    I've seen the Concept 32" on a component feed from a DVD3910 in Sevenoaks (Glasgow). I was very impressed with the PQ.
     
  8. ttone

    ttone
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

    I got a Loewe Xelos A32 two weeks ago and would recommend it to anyone, picture is great. One problem I have found is with the freeview tuner which does not support interactive or teletext.

    The other issue which is still bugging me is that I cannot get it to support HD resolutions from my PC, this was one of the reasons I bought it for. If anyone hears any info on this please let me know!!!

    Cheers

    Tony
     
  9. rogeralpine

    rogeralpine
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    565
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    What issues did you have with it via your PC. My dad's just got the 26" version and I'll be trying some HD stuff via my lappy soon.
     
  10. ianh64

    ianh64
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    SW London/Surrey borders
    Ratings:
    +63
    The Loewe digital tuners do not support MHEG5 and will not until later this year - I think when a different chassis is released. My understanding is that it will not be possible to retrofit this functionality into earlier versions.

    However, at least with the Xelos SL, it is possible to still use the old teletext style text pages when watching digital TV from the inbuilt tuner - it does not appear to work when watching an external source and may also be dependant on what order your channels are tuned in or what sort mode you are viewing. When watching a digital channel, press the text button as normal. you will get an old style page but with no content. The screen will also show a no text message. From there, hit the P+ button on the remote. In my case I get BBC1 teletext after a brief pause. You can then P+ to other channels supporting text. An alternative is to set up a text personal page and access it via the Loewe Dialogue - this also allows text to be access when viewing some of the external source inputs and does take a little longer to first appear than the P+ method.

    With the huge page cache giving instant page selection, I actually find the ability to watch one channel and have text from another to be far more useful than sluggish digital text.

    -Ian
     
  11. laurad

    laurad
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,
    I have Xelos A32. I advice you to buy A32 instead of concept because it has HDMI input. Well the PQ and sound are fantastic. In onether post I said that I had some color problems: it was a small problem with a internal connector. Loewe send me an expert and he told me that it can occurs: in two days loewe sent me my A32 with their new connector.
    I'm very happy.
    One question: how can I set my color preferences for different channels?

    bye

    laura
     
  12. s3marc

    s3marc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Messages:
    134
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hi Laura,

    I presume you mean set the colours for different inputs. As far as I am aware this is not possible. Colour settings are fixed for all inputs.

    Marc
     
  13. s3marc

    s3marc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Messages:
    134
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    the review in the mag is for the A42 not the A32 - A42 is a plasma screen. Not sure how much internals they share, they look similar on the outside, but I would doubt much is shared internally.
     
  14. Phil from 62

    Phil from 62
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Messages:
    59
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    I ordered an A32 today in Black and without DVB-T. I thought why pay £100 for Freeview that is not interactive, when I could get a decent Freeview box for less than that and that has Interactive and more.

    Besides I'm also on Cable and their picture is good and by the end of this year they are doing Hard Disk cable receivers....Woo!!!
     
  15. plasmosis

    plasmosis
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    68
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry for delay phil... lost my password !! good choice imho. got the xelos 32 in anthracite myself( looks really good in black!!). No expert but from all lcds i have seen, it is very close to crt quality. Bought it blind and no regret to date.
    Hope u enjoy ur purchase as I have mine. Good luck
     
  16. Phil from 62

    Phil from 62
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Messages:
    59
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    Great to hear Plasmosis...I'll let you know how I get on when I get mine.
    I've ordered an Optimum AV stand too...so I'm having them delivered together.

    :clap:
     
  17. Phil from 62

    Phil from 62
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Messages:
    59
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well I've got the Loewe Xelos 32" LCD and its awesome...Picture quality on DVD (via component) is out of this world. The TV picture is also excellent...in fact far better than I expected and that I had demo'd in the store.

    I'm also putting a signal from a Telewest Cable TV box through it and again the picture is even better again.

    The picture quality is only slacking when the TV programming that is of USA origin...but I would say thats more about the source material than the TV it self.

    Little tip....try ordering a Loewe without a Digital tuner (thats what I did) as I was then told, about 1 week later, analogue tuners are difficult to get from the Loewe factory so I was given the Digital upgrade free by Loewe.

    Anyway anyone looking for a decent LCD...that also looks classy....this Loewe is Excellent!!!
     
  18. kgreene

    kgreene
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello happy Loewe owners!
    Anyone comment as to how the Loewe copes with fast moving images (such as football shot at distance) as most LCDs seem to suffer from blurring.
    Also anyone know what resolutions the DVI/HDMI can support for connecting a Media Centre PC? I'd like to use 1366 X 768
    ken
     
  19. Phil from 62

    Phil from 62
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Messages:
    59
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Ken

    I can tell you that the Loewe handles Footbal pretty well...and to be quite honest far beat my expectations..Its pretty good. I didn't sample any better on demo...hence why I bought it.

    As for resolutions on DVI/HDMI I can't honestly answer that. As a TV its excellent, and as for watching DVD's...breathtaking.
     
  20. plasmosis

    plasmosis
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    68
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +0
    good to hear you are`pleased with the xelos too phil.
    Ken, footy fan here myself, coping footy pic quality on the lcd was a top priority for me. I can say that footy is excellent on this lcd. Perhaps i am biased but from all the lcds i looked at i was going to accept that having an lcd will mean poor quality footy pic. this is the one that surprised me when i got it. its the closest to a crt i have seen. Sorry, i have no idea bout the resolution.
    good luck and all the best.
     
  21. Phil from 62

    Phil from 62
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Messages:
    59
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    Totally agree Plasmosis...this LCD is the business...I'm so suprised that it has been out a while with no Magazine reviews...it seems that the Review mags are only interested in Pushing Sharp, Panasonics, JVC or Hitachi models and alike...
    As like you, this is the closet I've seen to a CRT for TV signals...but on DVD it is outstanding (well it is through my ARCAM DVD player) and far superior to any CRT I've seen.

    I just wish people would try Loewe....it seems if it isn't in a high street shop (like Dixons, Curry's, Comet etc) most people think it can't be worth buying....
     
  22. TurningFrench

    TurningFrench
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi ttone, rogeralpine,

    In the Loewe A series Operating_Instructions, it says on page 27,
    'VGA/XGA Connection':

    <<< start quote >>>
    Connect the PC/STB with a VGA cable to the VGA/XGA socket on the TV.
    When connecting to a PC you set one of the following screen resolutions on
    your PC first. 800x600 60Hz (SVGA) and 1024x768 60Hz (XGA).
    When a Set Top Box is connected you set the following screen resolutions
    according to the possibilities of the Set Top Box:
    SDTV - standard modes in STB: 720x576i PAL (50 Hz),
    720x 480i NTSC (60 Hz)
    HDTV modes: 1280x720p, 1920x1080i
    ProScan: 720x576p (50 Hz), 720x480p (60 Hz)
    <<< end quote >>>

    So, it would seem from a PC you are restricted to 1024x768 max, unless
    your PC's video card is HD enabled, in which case you can output in either
    1280x720p or 1920x1080i (and I assume either of these in 50 or 60 Hz).

    I have a question here. I wasn't aware that it is possible to output HD video
    over VGA. Is this really possible? If so, how does it work and has anybody
    ever got this working - on any TV, not necessarily a Xelos A series.

    Alternatively, you could always connect the PC using HDMI.
     
  23. gofer

    gofer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Coppet
    Ratings:
    +1
  24. ianh64

    ianh64
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    SW London/Surrey borders
    Ratings:
    +63
    I has a Loewe engineer around today to perform a software upgrade and asked him about the 'A' series machines compared with my Xelos SL, very close cousin to the Spheros. Off the record, he said that you get what you pay for...in the contect of what it was said, the implication was that the Xelos SL/Spheros are still better machines than the newer versions.

    At that price, I am sure that you would be very pleased. The black basalt case has a premium (£1000) in price over the platinum one and I don't think that the version being advertised is the one with the built in hard disc (the HD designation does not mean hard disc which is DR+ for digital recorder) , an additional £600. One thing to watch is that Empire Direct has in the past offered the Spheros for sale but it turned out to be vaporware so don't get your hopes up too much.

    -Ian
     
  25. gofer

    gofer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Coppet
    Ratings:
    +1
    Well I ordered it and they are quoting next week for delivery :thumbsup: Also they apparently have the the 37'' in stock so it seems to be real. I will report back when (if) it arrives. Worried now about setting it up from the handbook, but at that price I think it had to be done :rolleyes:
     
  26. CMcK

    CMcK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2003
    Messages:
    391
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +28
    Damn, I went back to order a 32" Spheros from Empire just a few mins ago and the listing is gone.
     
  27. gofer

    gofer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Coppet
    Ratings:
    +1
    37" is still there - not quite such a bargain as the 32 but still around a grand cheaper. Really hope ED are not mucking about.
     
  28. gofer

    gofer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Coppet
    Ratings:
    +1
    Well good old Empire Dire delivered as promised and I spent the weekend tweaking around with the Spheros.

    Firstly what a really beautiful TV this is. Even the wife likes it!

    Seems to very fussy over broadcast analogue signals.

    On DVD through scart (I will when the wallet has recovered invest in a DVI/HDMI source) the PQ is generally fantastic. I say generally because I am still having some issues with some movies where either there is a 3D type effect which is quite harsh (Heat Special edition as an example). This can be compensated at the expense of sharpness through the adjustment DMM DMI modes. I suspect that the optimum effect can be achieved through the correct selection of adjustment mode combinations.

    Any posts form Loewe owners would be appreciated on this issue.

    But apart from this which I am sure can be resolved I am a very happy camper :thumbsup:
     
  29. ianh64

    ianh64
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    SW London/Surrey borders
    Ratings:
    +63
    One word of caution when out shopping for a DVI/HDMI source - make sure you try before you buy. I am having problems with compatibility with my HDMI DVD player regarding HDCP - having had the DVD player checked out and being certified AOK, I called Loewe in. Linnsight, the UK Loewe distributers, have now just admitted a chipset incompatibility with the Philips DVI chipset used on the Loewe Xelos SL/Spheros and some high end sources that use the Silicon Image HDMI chipsets. 2 Arcam models, product details not disclosed and a Linn Unidisc have been shown to have the problem. It now looks like Meridian are to be added to the list. It is being looked into but I do not know what the resolution will be. Unfortunately it is an intermittent fault that can come and go over a period of time and only affects discs that are copy protected so make sure that when testing use a disc that will trigger HDCP.

    As for settings - when you spend that much money on a display, an extra £15-20 on a calibration disc like Digital Video Essentials or Avia is a prudent investment. They are not a silver bullet, but make calibration a scientific process rather than a hit and miss affair. Also, make sure that DNC is turned off.

    -Ian
     
  30. gofer

    gofer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Coppet
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks for the guidance, I was thinking of Denon 2910 which has the Faroudja chip.

    It's somewhat starnge that the Linn player has an issue. Looks like the guys in Glasgow and Germany haven't been swopping gear.
     

Share This Page

Loading...