New lens advice for wedding

Which wide-angle lens for second camera body?

• Nikon 20mm 1.8G

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Tamron 15-30mm 2.8

• Sigma 24mm 1.4

• Total voters

FallOutBoy

Distinguished Member
Reaction score
I've been shooting with my Nikon D750 for around 9 months now, along with 50mm and 85mm 1.8G lenses. I love the setup so far but I've been asked to shoot a wedding next year so need to look at my lens collection! I'm going to get a second body (probably another D750) but for now I want to buy a new lens so I can shoot with it plenty before next year.

I love shooting primes and would love to have a setup such as a 35mm 1.4 and 85mm 1.8 on my two D750's, as I'd like to change lenses as little as possible throughout the day. Obviously I will also need something wider, though, and also I will try and get hold of a Sigma 105mm macro as they are great for the money.

The lenses I'm looking at (as I will probably be looking to have the 85mm 1.8 on one body most of the time) are:

Nikon 20mm 1.8
Tamron 15-30mm 2.8
Tamron 24-70 2.8
Sigma 24mm 1.4
Sigma 35mm 1.4

As you can tell from the above, my budget for this lens is around £500-700

I preferably need something wide enough for indoor architectural shots and group portraits. But ideally it would be nice to also use that same lens for some details here and there and/or environmental portraits.

Am I being lazy wanting to use only 2 lenses for as much of the wedding as possible? Will a 35mm be wide enough, will my 85mm be long enough for the ceremony? So many questions!

My shooting style is very candid, I love the photojournalistic style of wedding photography but I'll be required to do do some group portraits, and obviously some posed bride and groom portraits using my 85mm.

Any advice much appreciated, from anyone who has captured weddings before, what would you say were your two most-used lenses?