New lcd in bedroom, best way to connect?

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by psycho74, Jun 2, 2008.

  1. psycho74

    psycho74
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Messages:
    127
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    White Notley, Witham, Essex
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi all, i have just put a new lcd tv on the wall in the kids room, there is no aerial socket in the room and i know indoor ones are said to be crap so with an aerial lead going into my sky box downstairs, is there a way to run that signal upstairs? Maybe there is an even better/simpler solution that you can suggest?! Many thanks in advance. :thumbsup:
     
  2. lfcmonkey

    lfcmonkey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Ratings:
    +105
  3. Sonic67

    Sonic67
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    40,844
    Products Owned:
    11
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Home
    Ratings:
    +18,229
    Is your aerial in the loft? Could you split the co-ax and then run a cable down the corner of the room and into the TV?
     
  4. alchemistkevin

    alchemistkevin
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,632
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +133
    I did a split once but the signal strength meters in the DTV software said signal stregth drops!


    something to keep in mind, but if you want to have a go, buy some cable and a y-splitter - that's what I did....


    hope it helps :)
     
  5. Sonic67

    Sonic67
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    40,844
    Products Owned:
    11
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Home
    Ratings:
    +18,229
    I have the TV's coax go from the aerial into the loft, from there it is amplified and then split four ways to two upstairs bedrooms and two downstairs rooms. A lot depends on how good the signal was in the first place etc.
     
  6. psycho74

    psycho74
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Messages:
    127
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    White Notley, Witham, Essex
    Ratings:
    +4
    Our aerial is located at the end of our block and is shared by six other houses, we just have a socket behind the tv in the front room which is wired into the sky box. Which is why i was wondering if running another cable upstairs would be the best solution, also would i be able to take advantage of the bedroom tv's freeview tuner this way or would i need an altogether different cable for this? :lease: :D
     
  7. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    22,725
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,396
    Yes.

    If the signal is strong enough that will work okay.
    Use a good quality double-screened coax cable...not the thin stuff that the D-I-Y sheds sell...try it and see.
     
  8. psycho74

    psycho74
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Messages:
    127
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    White Notley, Witham, Essex
    Ratings:
    +4
    Is there anywhere online that you can buy already terminated lengths of coax cable? I presume without checking that i would need a female plug for the skybox end and a male plug for the tv upstairs? :thumbsup:
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice