1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New killer remote - NevoSL

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Control & Remote Controls' started by owain_thomas, Jul 9, 2005.

  1. owain_thomas

    owain_thomas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    Ratings:
    +81
    Has any one got any experience of these?

    Audiovision have them for £650, which is a LOT of money for a remote, but they do look pretty special.
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    saw them at Cedia and they are nice pronto Pro killer? Well perhaps but i dont have £600 to buy one and play, but compares very favourably to the colour pronto and Marrantz clone spec and ability wise
     
  3. owain_thomas

    owain_thomas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    Ratings:
    +81
    I'm quite taken with the idea that it runs windows CE and has wireless networking, this should mean it's possible to use it with things like xlobby to control music etc. If that pans out then I'll have to start saving as it would tick every box I need - being able to browse cover art and control my HCPC without having to have the TV on would be perfect.

    and just as I was winding myself up to get a harmony as well ;)
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    get them both mate and do a comparison.......................
     
  5. owain_thomas

    owain_thomas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    Ratings:
    +81
    lol, don't think "the boss" would sanction that one somehow!
     
  6. Moosh

    Moosh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,002
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +473
  7. owain_thomas

    owain_thomas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    Ratings:
    +81
    it's getting better! ;)
     
  8. ntslik

    ntslik
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire
    Ratings:
    +10
  9. rolandrat

    rolandrat
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    452
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Northampton
    Ratings:
    +39
    This looks similar to the Nevo software that came with my Ipaq 2210.
    Looks nice though.
     
  10. Moosh

    Moosh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,002
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +473
    It must have gone up today.. :(
     
  11. Xstyle

    Xstyle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,445
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +143
    The Nevo SL received a VERY favourable write-up in T3 magazine this month
     
  12. Xstyle

    Xstyle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,445
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +143
    Can the NEVO-SL turn my WiFi enabled Laptop on, and then browse the drives, and then select and play something?

    (The laptop will be connected to the plasma in an AV cabinet)

    Any other benefits??
    :confused:
     
  13. owain_thomas

    owain_thomas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    Ratings:
    +81
    if it can run windows CE apps like any other pda then it should be able to run the xlobby client software. this would allow you to play a music track or video file that's in your xlobby library. I'm sure there's other ways of doing it but that's just one that, from experience, I know will work (providing it can run normal windows CE apps).

    Not sure about turning your laptop on but if they can do "wake on LAN" like desktops do then maybe?
     
  14. p9ul

    p9ul
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    8,702
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +767
    Looks very nice.

    ...although I'm still gonna wait for the Apple remote (but it could be a while...)
     
  15. owain_thomas

    owain_thomas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    Ratings:
    +81
    any info/links on this paul?
     
  16. p9ul

    p9ul
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    8,702
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +767
    I saw a report about it on macworld's website - although there's no official news from Apple as yet, other than they took out a patent or 2 for one back in 2003.

    I'll have a look for the article and post a link later.

    If it turns out to be anything like my iPod photo I'll be one of the first in the queue...
     
  17. p9ul

    p9ul
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    8,702
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +767
  18. Xstyle

    Xstyle
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,445
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +143
    So it makes sense to get the Harmony 885 for now, bide your time, then if you still need to get a much better remote in 9 to 12 months.

    LOADS will happen, inc. having the remote as a portable TV/Media Centre.
     
  19. bnewbie

    bnewbie
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Messages:
    75
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know this sounds like a absurd question but does this thing actually learn IR codes?

    Before you slate this post, the reason I ask is that in their "specs" document (http://www.mynevo.com/images/uploaded_images/NevoSL_productsheet.pdf) any of the few sites that sell this thing say that it can learn IR codes.

    It mentions "a massive IR database". The only reason I ask is that I prefer the look of this to the Pronto Pro and hardware wise they seem to be pretty similar (although the Nevo does have a smaller screen but 0.3 of an inch) but I believe a better processor (the Samsung chip is in my mobile phone and it's pretty quick).

    Anyhow just wondering if there is a review anywhere where it clearly states this thing can learn IR codes?

    Cheers,

    L
     
  20. bnewbie

    bnewbie
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Messages:
    75
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +0
    After doing some research there is a major stumbling block with this remote. You can't configure it. If you look on the mynevo.com site the software is listed but it's not available. Apparently only trained installers have the software.

    The problem of course is that if you change any part of your system or add anything you're going to need to get an official installer to come round and setup your remote again, which is probably going to cost you a bit of cash.

    So, all in all it may look lovely and the RF extender unit is far better than Philips (has 6 IR emitters and has network connectivity) but unless you're sticking with your system there's little to no point in this remote (sadly).

    Guess it's going to have to be the Pronto for me.

    L
     
  21. GreasyWeasel

    GreasyWeasel
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Messages:
    352
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +13
    Where on earth did you get that information? :confused:

    It is my understanding that you get the software with the remote, you simply can't download it from their website.

    Even with the built in Nevo 1.0 software in some iPAQ's you can set up different devices to control.

    Why on earth would a company release this sort of remote control that you can't configure it yourself, that would make no sense what so ever and no one would buy it.
     
  22. doubledrat

    doubledrat
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    89
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    not sure about what will be available with this remote, but I have tried nevo on my iPAQ and functionality wise it is not a patch on my Pronto NG

    just my 2p
     
  23. bnewbie

    bnewbie
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Messages:
    75
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +0
    I thought it was stupid too (completely agree with your sentiments) but there were a few sites in the US that sold these units which said they only deliver these "locally" because a trained installer must come and fix it. Also in the avsforums (US) there was a thread on this too.

    However I've done a little more research and the software does come with it. My apologies for the confusion, should have checked it out even more before I posted here.

    Looks like I'll be getting the Nevo in the end.

    Sorry once again about the confusion.

    L
     
  24. owain_thomas

    owain_thomas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    Ratings:
    +81
    in what way? i've never tried it so would be interested what it lacked compared to a pronto (which I'm very familiar with)
     
  25. bnewbie

    bnewbie
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Messages:
    75
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does anyone know of a place to get the NevoSL from the US? I saw it at a place a few weeks ago but they seemed to have taken it off their list. It retails for about $650 in the US (as opposed to £650 here).

    Cheers,

    L

    UPDATE : I just had a chat with a reseller in the States. Basically they aren't allowed to sell the remotes to anyone out of their "area" - that means even to other states in the US. Interesting marketing ploy.
     
  26. doubledrat

    doubledrat
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    89
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    owain: very rigid layout, can't redesign the whole experience like you can with the pronto...
     

Share This Page

Loading...