New kid on the block need help & guidance

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by roadrunner7, Jan 2, 2007.

1. roadrunner7

roadrunner7

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    happy new year guys, this is my first posting and i need your help can you please advise the best way of being able to listen to music and watch tv / satalite / dvd in most rooms in my house.
    At present i don't have much idea about hardware and costs but all replys will be reviewed and consideredforwardto you answers:
    I have been told by a friend that I should consider upgrading my computer and use cat 5 cable but this doesen't really mean anything to me a total novice.

If you need any further info please mail me and I'll try and be more spacific
    look
    Thanks for your help

2. BruceH

BruceH

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +9
    I think your question is probably a bit general to get an answer.
    But I'll try and give you a few pointers.

option 1)
    Go to a professional install company, give them a pile of money and ask them to do it.

option 2)
    Do a lot of reading / experimenting and do it yourself, but this is really only an option, if you enjoy the experimenting as much as I do, and don't want it to "just work"

When your friend talks about using Cat5, I assume he means wiring your whole house with "structured wiring".
    This means that you have a wire or many from each location to a central point.
    At this point you would have a patch cabinet that allows you to connect any point to any other point.

You can then use these wires for network or telephone communication.
    Using various adaptors, you can also send audio and/or video.

If you want to watch the same source in each room, you could just distribute one signal around the house.
    If you want different sources in each room, you would need some kind of matrix switcher.
    Also you need the ability to control all the gear from each room.