new isp

Discussion in 'Sky Broadband' started by leigh120585, Jun 8, 2009.

  1. leigh120585

    leigh120585
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    149
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    shropshire
    Ratings:
    +8
    just after a bit of aidvice, im currently with aol which is a good connection and is fixed to 2mb.

    i was looking into getting sky hd and 8mb broadband with sky. i have done some speed checks and it says i can upto 8mb. I had a look at my netgear router home page and the downstream was 8128kbps
    up stream was 448kbps

    i had a look on sam knows and it said my exchange is adsl max.

    most of this means nothing to me,:confused: just been doing some research on here to get my self any info!

    Would i likely to get a good connection with sky?

    thanx leigh
     
  2. EndlessWaves

    EndlessWaves
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,730
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +2,492
    If you're already syncing at 8128/448kbps then I think you will get the full speed if you sign up to an 8Mbps package.
     
  3. leigh120585

    leigh120585
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    149
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    shropshire
    Ratings:
    +8
    i spoke to sky and they can only offer me sky connect with 40gb cap a month, will this be enough for a bit of surfing, xbox live maybe 6-8 hours a week and the odd iplayer dowload on my touch?
     
  4. EndlessWaves

    EndlessWaves
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,730
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +2,492
    That'd be easily enough for that.

    The Sky Connect package is ADSL Max, the Sky Max package is ADSL2+.

    To get faster than that your exchange either needs to have WBC or one of the LLU Providers that offer ADSL2+ (Sky/Easynet, O2/Be, Entanet, TalkTalk or C&W / Bulldog). And if you're syncing at 8Mbps now then you'll be able to get pretty close to the 24Mbps top speed of ADSL2+ as well if someone's offering it and you go for that.
     
  5. anka06

    anka06
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    LEEDS
    Ratings:
    +6

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice