New iMac and NAS as backup and media server - what to consider

Discussion in 'Networking & NAS' started by Thomas, Sep 2, 2013.

1. Thomas

Thomas
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hello,

I am soon to buy a new iMac, an AppleTV-box (#3 incl. aTV Flash), an iPad (#5) and a 2-bay NAS-device (possibly Synology DS213+) with 2 drives (possibly WD Red 3TB). Im going to cable everything to my router with wifi for the iPad. To keep everything fast and tidy on the iMac, Im planning on getting the 512 GB SSD drive installed and to trash the build in 2x4 GB RAM adding 4x8 GB instead. Im a graphic artist and a hobby photographer, and the 512 GB SSD drive will give me if not plenty then enough room for whatever I use most: Handpicked applications, all system files, libraries and user documents plus all my photos and graphic work at hand and space to grow. Anything else (eg. archives and large media files like music and movies) I would like to store on the NAS drive 1 along a mirrored copy of the files on the iMac, and I would like the NAS drive 1 to back up automatically to NAS drive 2, and the NAS drive 2 to back up automatically to Crashplan in the cloud. I would like to play music and movies on my old hifi-system and my old tv via the AppleTV-box from the NAS drive 1. Even while the iMac is shut down using the tv or the iPad as a controller.

These are my concerns: Is SSD worth the money and the right path though small and expensive? Is the backup water proof and possible as described (also planning to clone the iMac to external drive once in a while to store offsite)? Will I be able to install Crashplan+ on NAS drive 2 and control settings from the iMac? Will the use of NAS drive 1 as a media server work as described? Even with the iMac shut down. Which application is best for maintaining the backup/sync/mirror between iMac and NAS, and NAS drive 1 and NAS drive 2?