1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New HTPC Build Help

Discussion in 'Microsoft Windows' started by FunkyJMan, Sep 9, 2005.

1. FunkyJMan

FunkyJMan

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,

I am completely new to this and don't know anybody I can ask for advice on it so I did a search and found this forum which seems to have loads of information that I need.

So my question is basically I want to uild my own htpc running Windows Media Center but don't know exactly what I need so would like some advice on the parts, so far I have the following spec...

Accent HT-400 Silver Case
    Seagate Barracuda 7200rpm 400GB SATA 8MB Cache Hard Drive
    80mm AcoustiFan temperature sensitive
    Beige NEC 2510A- DVD/RW Drive
    Seagate 80GB IDE hard drive
    VFD

So the things I think I am missing are...

Power Supply, I want something quiet but with a fan

Graphics Card that will fit in the case I know it's limited on room with the optical drive so I was looking at the Gigabyte NVIDIA Fanless 6600GT 128MB PCI-E if thats any good?

Motherboard? I would like a pretty quiet one prefferably running a P4 chip the LGA series if possible. Any suggestions please?

Capture card that works with media center? I have no idea what I should look for I want to be able to plug in my Sky+ box to it and im going to output it to my panasonic 42" plasma (TH42PV500) from the graphics card using DVI - HDMI if thats possible?

Lastly I think I just need a Soundcard if someone could suggest one please that would be great unless the motherboard has one built in.

Budget isn't really an issue with this project I just want something nice that works well in my bedroom.

Any help at all on this would be very much appreciated as I really don't have much clue on what parts will work with media center so don't want to waste my money.

Thanks a lot
    Jamie.

2. hutters

hutters