New house with Sky Q LNB - options?

samus

Novice Member
Reaction score
Hello, I am in the process of buying a house that has existing Sky Q service and no (or very poor) terrestrial signal. We intend to use FreeSat instead (and will need a new TV anyway) and I'm trying to work out my option - I'm quite new to satellite systems in general so please forgive any ignorance in my questions. As far as I can tell, my options are:

1) replace the Sky Q wideband LNB with a hybrid LNB (~£35 Visiblewave looks like it would do the trick) - then connect one of the legacy outputs to a TV with built-in FreeSat tuner. I've never had a dish before but it seems as though switching the LNB isn't too big a deal as long as I can get access easily to the dish. However, will probably be limited to a single tuner so I can watch OR record (unless I want to watch and record two different things on the same transponder).

2) buy one of the new FreeSat 4K set-top boxes with wideband input - maybe the easiest solution, but an extra £200 per TV plus the need to split the two LNB outputs, run coax to each of them. I don't think any TVs exist with wideband FreeSat built-in, but please anyone shout if that is a product that exists, or is likely to exist soon! A FreeSat equivalent of a Sky Q minibox would also do the trick but I don't know if those are in the works, or (even they are) if that would require replacing the main box too at further expense. Maybe slightly less expensive if I go with the non-recording box and get a TV with external hard drive PVR capability, but my current Samsung smart TV has this and it's not great.