Answered New House is Cat6 wired...now what do I do?

Discussion in 'Networking & NAS' started by 47degrees, Jun 27, 2018.

1. 47degrees

47degrees
    Novice Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    Morning all,

I have a new (built in 1962) house that I am having rewired, I am having 13 cat6 cables run to different rooms (2 to each of the three bedrooms, 3 to living room, 2 to the kitchen and another 2ports near to the back of the house so I can boost WiFi in garden)

I have a large under stairs cupboard that all the cables will run back to and then I need to connect them all up, I am totally new to networking so here’s the ...

QUESTION, what set up do I need? Budget is a consideration but I want good kit, what is a good future proof router?

What switch will be best ? On amazon there is a well reviewed product NETGEAR GS316-100UKS 16-Port Gigabit Ethernet Desktop Switch

Will that do? There is no online gaming in the house I just want a good strong internet connection on everything wired and our phones and tablets, we use YouTube and stream music and that’s about it, oh and I will have wireless CCTV installed soon

Maybe having a NAS drive attached will be an option

Any help will be much appreciated

2. Best Answer:
    Post #10 by mickevh, Jun 27, 2018 (1 points)
  3. ChuckMountain

ChuckMountain

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    Are the cables in the cupboard terminated into anything i.e. a patch panel or sockets?

If not that's your first thing you will need.

Who is fitting\fitted the cables? Make sure if its an electrician that he does it properly and supplies proper CAT6 cable not the Copper Clad Aluminium (CCA) which does not meet any of the standards but is cheeeaapp :)

Where is your current router and can it be put into the cupboard?