Question New house. help with home network...

Discussion in 'Networking & NAS' started by enemjay, Jun 15, 2015.

  1. enemjay

    enemjay
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    New network help?

    Hi all

    Have recently moved house and a 24 port patch-panel has been set up in the loft with ethernet sockets in each room.
    How do I best get this this work?

    I have BT router in one of the downstairs rooms next to the main phone socket - how do I get this router signal up to the patch-panel?


    Ideas greatly appreciated


    Enemjay
     
  2. Herbiefish

    Herbiefish
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,302
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +573
    Cat5/6 cable plugged into your router and the other end into your switch to make the others active.
     
  3. Kristian

    Kristian
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    Messages:
    2,257
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Sunny Scunny
    Ratings:
    +450
    As HF suggests, buy a switch for the loft and use the cable runouts to plug your router into the switch in the loft - assuming you have a cable near to the router/phone socket.
     
  4. enemjay

    enemjay
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    So... use one of the ethernet sockets to take the router signal up to the loft. Then into a switch. Then into the patch-panel?
     
  5. mickevh

    mickevh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    7,257
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    West London
    Ratings:
    +1,755
    A patch panel is simply cable termination - it's exactly the same as the sockets in the rooms, except many more of them in a single lump of (usually) plastic/metal. To join things together to form a LAN you need an "active" component such as an ethernet switch.

    One usually places a switch near to the patch panel, then use short(ish) UTP cables called Patch-Cords to link the ports (and hence data outlets in your rooms) of the PP that you want "live" to the switch (you don't have to do them all if all are not required.)

    Thence you need a link down to your router to avail the Internet service (and a few other things SOHO routers do.) If the previous resident went to the trouble of putting in UTP cabling, you may find one of the cable run outs from the PP already reaches down to wherever your router is located.
     
  6. Kristian

    Kristian
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    Messages:
    2,257
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Sunny Scunny
    Ratings:
    +450
    ADSL into the router, then Ethernet port on router <--> Cat5E cable to Loft patchpanel <--> switch port.
     
  7. Navvie

    Navvie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    938
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Fareham
    Ratings:
    +335
    Assuming there's a ethernet socket next to the master phone socket, that will be connected to a socket on your patch panel.

    Plug a cable between the router and the ethernet socket, then in the loft connect the corresponding patch panel socket to your switch. Other sockets in rooms will also be run to the patch panel, it's just a case of working out which is which and plugging the relevant patch panel socket into your switch.

    Lucky you buying a house that's already fully networked! I'm having to do my house one room at a time when we do our first round of decorating.
     
  8. enemjay

    enemjay
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks all...

    I think I have the idea.
    Will give it a go - need to get hold of a switch
     

Share This Page

Loading...