1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New house fully wired up - where to next?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by davidhar, Aug 17, 2005.

1. davidhar

davidhar

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just bought a new house which is fully cabled for "multi room audio". I'm a bit of an amateur but judging by the amount of cable oozing out of the wall in the utility room I can safely say shortage of wire will not be a problem. Each room has cabling for TV (cables are coax, power, 3 core AV?), a control panel and speakers in different wall and ceiling locations

The developer is pushing me towards a particular installer but before I go to them I want to get an idea on what I should be looking for.

The things I think I will need are

- ceiling mounted speakers? (cables are hidden inside of ceiling and joists in each room)
    - some sort of a rack in the utility room to tidy up and hold the hardware
    - control panels in each room (the showhouses had Opus, Elan and Living Control Panels)

What needs to go into the rack? CD, Tuner, DVD, Sky, Hard Drive unit? Could I buy these goodies and get an electrician mate to fit them or is there a secret sauce recipe which means I go with developers installers and pay the toll? Any idea what this should cost me? Could I save by sourcing the components?

Thanks in advance for any help.....

:)

2. neilball

neilball

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +511
    You could save by installing some kit yourself - ceiling speakers, equipment rack or shelving, general sources etc. It is the audio & video distribution systems that may be more difficult - some are only sold to the trade for example.