New house build and want to hide away sky, bluray, media PC

Stephen Teare

Novice Member
Reaction score
Hi there, I'm completely new to home networking for TV, as although a computer techie I've wired up my current house very simply, 2 x cat5 to a few rooms back to a central 24 port netgear router. However I have just bought a new build house and they will lay cat6 cable. So what do I want to do:
3 main rooms on 3 floors.
Den on top floor
Main TV room middle floor
Study ground floor

The aim is to get the ground floor under stairs cupboard to house the internet and BT and sky incoming connections therefore housing the sky box and bluray and internet router.
The top floor and study are getting internet only as xbox in the den on the top floor will show sky if needed.
The main thing I need to do is hide away the boxes but allow them to function in the living room middle floor. People have said to me because the run is about 8-10m to the TV point from the cupboard to just have HDMI cables going to a blanking plate to connect up sky etc. well that makes a simple solution but how do you control it?
Sorry to be a simpleton but if it was just data I'd have 2-4 cat6 in each room. Can anyone help and would the hdmi cable option work?

If you have run Cat6 cables I would use these as your HDMI distribution method as they will also allow for IR control.

A central 4x4 HDMI Over single or dual Cat6 matrix will allow up to 4 sources (Sy, BluRay, etc) to connect to 4 TVs via Cat6. Any TV can watch any source in any combination.

This way you have total flexibility on what you watch where.

The system includes IR passthru so you can control you sources from the Tv locations

A Dual Cat6 4x4 Matrix we have on offer at £499+VAT at the moment including 4 receivers and all the IR accessories.

A single Cat6 (HDBaseT) 4x4 Matrix is £1299+VAt including 4 receivers and all the IR Accessories.