New home - TV wiring advice needed!

settop13

Novice Member
Reaction score
Hi

I am moving into a new home, which is being ripped out and re decorated, so i am looking to sort out the tv setup in the living room in terms of cabling etc.

Its a small mid terraced home, with 2 reception rooms (1 living room, 1 kitchen/diner). I want to have the tv on the wall, and a small low TV unit at the bottom. Since the builder is in the house and is going to be doing the wiring and plumbing behind the plaster i am looking for advice on the best way to wire it up.

The tv is mainly going to be used as a smart TV, and for gaming. I think the best way to wire it up would be to put a plug socket on the wall where the TV wall mount is going to be. For the Ethernet cable i am going to feed the wire through the wall (from the bottom of the wall up to the top) and i also need 4 HDMI connections wired the same way.

Im a bit of a newbie when it comes to this, so my questions are:

1) What quality of HDMI cables should i buy bearing in mind they are going to be stuck behind the plaster

2) Im definitely going to have HDMI faceplates at the bottom of the wall, so i can just plug a console into the wall without having to mess around with shelves etc. – Should i also have faceplates at the top behind the TV, and then get a small HDMI to HDMI lead to plug from that into the TV? Or should i just have the wires coming out of the wall, as they will be covered by the TV anyway

3) Is there any other connections i need to think about?

Any input and help would be greatly appreciated!

Many thanks

I would put optical cable too behind the wall, also usb extensions from tv etc.
HDMI faceplates - if you need these for clean look, but otherwise try to use direct cables for everything.
How about the sound? Nothing? Suggesting wires at least 5.1 ready, it's so easy to do right now before plastering.