New home theatre set up

rajeevbansal

Novice Member
Hello, I am very new to AV setups but have been working on a home theatre set-up for last couple of months. I have double garage of near 6 by 6 m, and one half will have pool table and the other half will be home theatre (no wall in between though). With my research and some professional input, I shortlisted Denon X3600H amplifier (not bought yet) for a 5.1.4 setup. The fronts are standalone, and top and rear in-wall.
I was settled on MA Silver 300 front speakers, C150 for center, MA C265-FX for the four atmos, MA WSS230 for rear speakers and SVS PB2000 Pro for sub. However, I saw open box deals and bought Silver 500 for front and four of MA C380-FX for atmos. I know that this may not be the best way to get speakers. Now I am concerned after some reading that Denon X3600H may not be strong enough amplifier for these power hungry speakers, especially Silver 500s. I have tried Denon X3600H, compared it to X4500H and did not notice any difference. Will Silver 500 and C380-FX be fine for the space, and is Denon X3600H a suitable amplifier to drive all of them. Also, I feel C350 may be better suited to go with Silver 500, rather than C150. Many thanks.

gibbsy

The Silvers can be a hard taskmaster for some receivers and the more speakers you add to your layout the more the power if diluted and difficult speakers may have trouble in very heavy active scenes. With nine speakers being driven the actual power available may be as low as 50 watts per channel. You would have to have the 6500 or 8500 models to get that extra bit of power and they are a considerable cost over the 3600.