• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

NEW Home theater system Spec me up!

rehansaeed

Standard Member
Hi,

I'm new to this so go easy.

I am looking at getting a 32" LCD tv, so far I like this but if you have any better suggestions then please let me know:

Samsung LE32R73BD for around £600
Samsung LE32N73BD for around £740 (Only difference I can see is it has 2 HDMI ports)

I also like the Samsung DVD/Hard drive recorder:

Samsung DVD-HR734 for around £210 at curry's

I am not sure about if a home theater system would be worth it.

Here are my questions:

1) The reason why it is good to have more than one HDMI is so you dont need to switch round your DVD and PS3 HDMI cables (When it comes out) right?

2) Will things get any cheaper after christmas, if so by how much.

3) Are the speakers in the tv any good, is it worth getting a home theater system.

4) Is it true that if you buy a home theater system without a dvd recorder then you wont get the surround sound (Spoke with a curry's salesperson, this has me really confused).

5) I can build PC's so is it worth building my own pvr over the samsung dvd/hard drive recorder, if so what would I need to spend and what extra things can it do. What problems can I expect.

6) Is everything above compatible with Sky and each other?

7) Apart from Kelkoo or Pricerunner any other cheap places to buy from.

Thanks in advance to anyone who takes the time to read this and answers all my questions.:thumbsup: :thumbsup:

Badger0-0

Distinguished Member
1) you answered you own question :smashin:

2) My crystal ball tells me yes, but not by how much ;)

3) They can be, but they won't be as good as Hi-Fi type stuff.

4) Is just laughable and typical currys.