New Home Light Automation

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by Ramy Khalil, Jul 3, 2015.

  1. Ramy Khalil

    Ramy Khalil
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Cairo
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am bulding a new home, and I am stuck with light automation solution.

    I live outside the USA, so i can't have 110v bulbs.

    which bulbs can be used with motion sensors so that they can be set to turn on when someone enters the room and off automatically when no motion is detected. I would also like to integrate philips hue in that system in some spots in the house, and connect them with he same sensors, or use IFTTT if sensors is not possible.
     
  2. shortyav

    shortyav
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,135
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +137
    A motion sensor just acts a switch so with an on off load any within the sensors load parameters. Dimmable loads are more complicated and more often would be used in a control system. For instance the motion sensor sends an on command to the relevant circuit when occupancy is detected. The control system receives this command and then sends a command to activate the programmed circuit/lighting scene. One such system which offers this is control4. You also may be able to find a motion sensor which can trigger and is not needing a specific voltage or you could use a system like Rako or P5 which has contact triggering and the motion sensor again acts a low voltage trigger.
     
  3. Ramy Khalil

    Ramy Khalil
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Cairo
    Ratings:
    +0
    will control4 or p5 or rake control 2 different types of lamps at the same time? if i have 50 hue bulbs (maximum) and i need more bulbs in the house, lets say i will use any z wave bulbs or whatever.. can i switch all of or make scenes using 2 bulb brands from one software?
     
  4. shortyav

    shortyav
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,135
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +137
    Yes , potentially but any lighting system will need to be designed to do what your need require. There are many system that can do similar things, some are much better than others, some will many other things, some are centralised and need professional integration, others are diy product. It very much depends upon budget and needs
     
  5. Ramy Khalil

    Ramy Khalil
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Cairo
    Ratings:
    +0
    I want the best system i can install myself because i don't live in USA, if money is not the decisive factor, what is the best system i can get that works with 240v, and the types of bulbs that work on 240v.
     
  6. shortyav

    shortyav
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,135
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +137
    The best you can get and something you can self install are quite different. If it totally has to be self installation then Fibaro could be worth a look.
     
  7. Ramy Khalil

    Ramy Khalil
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Cairo
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just for the sake of learning, what were you going to say if I said it can be installed by someone professional?
    I live in Egypt, and there is a chance that technicians here can't do it. home automation in Egypt is very new.
     
  8. shortyav

    shortyav
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,135
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +137
    Now you'll be starting a fight!
    Us UK boys don't mind getting a tan ;)
    Ok at the top of the tree is
    Crestron For control
    Lutron has the name in lighting
    AMX
    Then you have more mid - higher end systems like
    Control4 - my recommendation
    Élan
    RTi
    Legrand
    And a whole host of other systems
    Which may or may not grab your fancy.
    Also consider how the power supply is and if you need some system to condition/regulate it.
    Also best in mind the control systems are network based so a good internet connection and network would be required.
    The top systems are almost all centrally wired so the wiring schedule would need to accommodate this.
     
  9. shortyav

    shortyav
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,135
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +137

Share This Page

Loading...