1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Home - I want the internet, nut no need for landline because of cost!!

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by craynerd, Aug 30, 2005.

  1. craynerd

    craynerd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    327
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Guys,

    I`m moving into a new appartment with the mrs. We are only 22 and just started working after uni, but have decided to get our own place. Thanks to you lot we are now skint after forking out for lcd tvs, av amps, warfedale speakers ect ect ect...... however my new job, doesnt require, but would be extremely easier and handy if i had an internet connection. But with us both being hard up for another year or so, we dont really need the extra money coming out for a standard land phone line since we can get by with our mobiles!! Its true, we would use one, but its general purpose would be to supply us with a broadband or 56k internet connection.

    So my question is: what is the cheapest way to get an internet connection, preferably faster than 56k. Does any company do a land line and internet connection all in one for a set monthy fee. Or whats the cheapest company to set up a land line with and then whats the cheapest ISP.?? Or more interestingly, can any comany supply an internet connection without having the need for a land line number?


    You can see what i`m trying to say im sure, i just want the internet but i`m not that bothered about a land line!!
    Hope someone can help
    Chris

    PS. i heard ntl may be an option but with it being an appartment i dont know 100% if its connected!
     
  2. craynerd

    craynerd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    327
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    i forgot to mention, it will be heavily used, so pay as you go wouldnt be the best option....although if its cheap, then it may be worth thinking about.
     
  3. RMCF

    RMCF
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2000
    Messages:
    6,961
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +621
    Did you consider wireless internet? No need for a landline then.
     
  4. Noodle

    Noodle
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    577
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +1
    ???

    You still need a landline or cable connection to go wireless.

    NTL are probably you're best option if you can get it. I think the cheapest is about £17.99pm although capped at 3GB I think. At least you won't have to pay a 2nd sub for the phone line.
     
  5. RMCF

    RMCF
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2000
    Messages:
    6,961
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +621
    No you don't.

    I do not have a landline at home and was considering getting wireless internet connected. No issues.

    You have a small aerial/receiver on your house and the data is transmitted through the air. Have you never heard of it?
     
  6. Mylo

    Mylo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,541
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +372
    You definately do not need a land line. http://www.mynow.co.uk/index.php

    I've been with them about a year now with next to no problems. £14 a month for up to 512 dependant on reception and traffic.
     
  7. RMCF

    RMCF
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2000
    Messages:
    6,961
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +621
    I know, tell Noodle !!
     
  8. Mylo

    Mylo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,541
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +372
    That's alright, Noodles a good guy :thumbsup:

    The term wireless means different things to different people.
     
  9. vizslaraner

    vizslaraner
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    424
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hereford
    Ratings:
    +1
    This is true. Wireless to me is a big box sat on a sideboard that has valves in it (that's the box, not the sideboard) and is able to receive the "Light Programme".
     
  10. craynerd

    craynerd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    327
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    WIRELESS is a no go ..... 1) I`m up in`t hill`s and cant recieve a reception!! i have rang and checked!

    2) NO external arials or dishes on the communial roof! one of these red-row new rules


    BY THE WAY- --just to clarify...its not the expense of fitting a land line or connection...its the actual standard monthly charge that i could do with out. Basically i have a phone line fitted, i just dont want to connect it cuz i can afford the standard charge, yet wanna recieve the internet through it.

    Basically, does anyone provide an internet connection, without connecting a landline for incomming....or outcgoing really, just purely for internet use!

    Chris
     
  11. apul

    apul
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    689
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Durham
    Ratings:
    +19
  12. damage

    damage
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    260
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +11
    we just went for ntl.

    only wanting internet not tv or phone we went for
    the 18 pounds a month for one meg broadband.

    the house must have previously had int as there was an ntl box, so they only needed to switch it on and plug in a modem
     
  13. Noodle

    Noodle
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    577
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +1
    Ooooh, I didn't know that.

    Call myself a support engineer as well.... :suicide:

    That's really interesting actually, as my mate lives on a narrowboat and would love internet access. I'll have a look into it for him.

    Cheers all...
     
  14. craynerd

    craynerd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    327
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Just looked at damn telewest!!! no connection!! All these places dont seem to have connected to us yet!!!

    Will noone just connect the broadband instead of the phone as well ??
    Like BT, will they not just provide me with internet as my isp, without me connecting my land line ?
     
  15. craynerd

    craynerd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    327
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    if not...and we finally give up...whats the cheapest standard charge to get land line connection, then the cheapest broad band on top.....whats would the total be if we didnt use the phone for outgoing ? (or are there any deals, were free hone after 6 ect.)

    all, this stuff your recommending, ntl , wireless and stuff, just isnt connected where my new flat is!!! :(
     
  16. craynerd

    craynerd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    327
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Well my situation is slightly different, as i have already stated my phone land line is installed, i just dont want the added charge of monthly standard charges, just to enable broadband!!
     
  17. mrtbag

    mrtbag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    3,509
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Anywhere I want
    Ratings:
    +395
    What town are you in?
     
  18. pjclark1

    pjclark1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,411
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +271
    See if any others in your block have ADSL, get em to use a wireless router, pay half their internet subs if they will share.

    Dead easy.
     
  19. Mylo

    Mylo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,541
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +372
    For reference the receiver is a small box that you just sit on a wondow ledge inside your property. It works on radio waves so reception could well be better if your higher up.
     
  20. craynerd

    craynerd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    327
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    sorry for not replying...i`m in Haslingden N Manchetester
     

Share This Page

Loading...