Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

New Home Cinema Advice

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by R_Stephenson, Mar 20, 2004.

1. R_Stephenson

R_Stephenson

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey there, newbie here.

Right my situation is - I have had a Phillips 3800MX DVD/Home Cinema kit for about a year and a half now, I believe its 350watts RMS output and has all the usual standard features such as a 5.1 and DTS decoder etc.

Now as much as I am happy with the set up, its been playing up as late. The satellite speaker seem to have lost some volume over the last 18 months or so, and yet the Sub has remained a powerful 165watt beast that can drain out some of the speakers.

Also living next door to a teenage girl means having to wake up with craig david banging through the walls is a regular occurrence. Thus, I need a new set up with a bit more oomph to drown out her crap.

Although getting some unbiased advice can be hard looking online other than a forum so I was wondering if anyone could recommend something.

I have a nice living room where I can have all speakers set up in correct positions although its quite spacious and can get an echo. I'm looking between the price range of £300 to £800 and need something with some real volume to it.

Ta kindly.

2. andy572

andy572
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi, R :hiya:

Given your need for 'real volume' and somewhat wide price-range, it's a little difficult to give a simple recommendation.

Furthermore, although unable to gauge your idea of volume levels, it's fair to say that almost any hardware falling into your price bracket should meet your needs. Of course, volume doesn't necessarily correlate with quality - nor do the numbers tell the whole story.