New Home being renovated

Discussion in 'Smart Home, Climate Control & Security Forum' started by Hi-Def, Aug 17, 2006.

1. Hi-Def

Hi-Def

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +42
    I have edited my old post as I want to ask advice on everything I want to do

The house is in Coventry, West Midlands so anyone who is near and could carry out this type of work PM me or any recommendations.

We are currently about to start gutting and extending a house we have just brought and would really like to do some Light automation and sound/video distribution and need advice as I'm a beginner and don't even know where to start. I have listed what i would like and what i have thought about

These are the rooms that I will have:

Ground floor

Sitting Room
    Dining Room
    Kitchen – with utility room
    Hallway

1st Floor

Landing
    Main Bathroom
    Bedroom 1 with en-suite and walk in wardrobe
    Bedroom 2 with en suite
    Bedroom 3
    Bedroom 4

2nd Floor

Stairs to attic
    2 attic rooms but at the moment this will be left as one as we dont really need it to be 2 rooms and need time to think about what will be done

I want to be able to extend it to be able to add in outdoor lights back garden/driveway some time in the future when we get round to sorting them

I want each room to have the wiring for Aerial and 2xSat – I want it so that the sat wires are up in the loft and I can choose which to connect up to the sat dish when and if needed in the future

For me lights is the biggest thing as I want to be able to have moods and zones and be able to control them by remote controls – also sticking a harmony 885 or something like this in each room will mean just one remote which could control the TV, Sat, Lights and more

The Living Room and Kitchen are the my main areas of interest and would like some sort of touch screen as you walk in – where you can press on and off then go into an advanced menu for moods etc. aswell as using a remote???