1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Hitachi 42PMA400E arrived - connection question

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Stuart Wright, Mar 6, 2003.

  1. Stuart Wright

    Stuart Wright
    AVForums Founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2000
    Messages:
    13,734
    Products Owned:
    6
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +9,405
    Hi All,
    just took delivery of a Hitachi 42PMA400E which has VGA, S-video, component and composite inputs.
    I will probably eentually drive it with a HCPC but until then I need to feed it a scart RGB signal from my TIVO. Without downgrading to s-video, how do I do this?
    Thanks.
     
  2. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,977
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,779
    You'll need a John Sim RGB to Component convertor. It's unlikely the thing accepts RGBcomposite sync.

    If it does then you need a Scart to RGB COMPOSITE lead to go between the two and then you need to configure plasma to accept such a signal.

    Gordon
     
  3. Napoleon

    Napoleon
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Given that you own a mighty impressive projector,i was just wondering why you had bought a plasma.I guess the performance is a few notches down the performance ladder,in comparison.Apologies for my noseyness.:)
     
  4. Stuart Wright

    Stuart Wright
    AVForums Founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2000
    Messages:
    13,734
    Products Owned:
    6
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +9,405
    Thanks, Gordon - bits ordered.
    Napoleon - 5.1 system #2 for the living room.
     
  5. leigh h

    leigh h
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    How are you finding the fan noise i didn't think they were bad at all,my fish tank makes more noise also I was told you can connect up dvd by using component to the vga lead to the vga port and changing the screen setting to component, is this possible because I am 99% sure I will be purchasing this screen. and a new dvd I have an old pioneer 717( no component), I think this screen is very good for the price I viewed this screen and the pio mxe and thought there was nothing in the screens that could warrent spending an extra 7-800 pounds maybe a slightly quiter fan operation.
     
  6. Stuart Wright

    Stuart Wright
    AVForums Founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2000
    Messages:
    13,734
    Products Owned:
    6
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +9,405
    The fan isn't a problem at all. A complete non issue.
    The RGB to component convertor works fine.
    Most important for me is that John Archer rates it as the best plasma he's ever seen.
     
  7. kwijibo

    kwijibo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    475
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    essex
    Ratings:
    +2



    probably just me but........who's john archer???
     
  8. Stuart Wright

    Stuart Wright
    AVForums Founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2000
    Messages:
    13,734
    Products Owned:
    6
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +9,405
    The guy who writes most, if not all the TV, plasma and projector reviews for Home Cinema Choice magazine - of which's website, these are the official forums of. And who also writes the superlative hardware news for HCC, Total DVD and What Video websites.
     
  9. peve3

    peve3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    436
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    can u tell me if the Hitachi 42PMA400E supports pal progressive scan thx !! and where is the cheapest place to buy it !!
     
  10. Stuart Wright

    Stuart Wright
    AVForums Founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2000
    Messages:
    13,734
    Products Owned:
    6
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +9,405
    No I can't.
    Don't know the answer to the first questionand you can do your own homework when it comes to looking around for retailers.
    Don't forget to check the prices of forum sponsors. Give them a call they might budge a bit more forum members.
     
  11. mike.gibson

    mike.gibson
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does the Hotachi have the option of taking RGB input as well as component (YUV). My panasonic allows you to set its inputs (via RCA) to either RGB or YUV. If using RGB you then set it up to take a composite sync signal from the normal composite video input. This way, using a SCART-RGB+Sync lead you connect your plasma to your normal RGB SCAR source. I guess you will need to check out the manual.
     
  12. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,977
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,779
    Mike,

    Seeing as Spectre asked how to plug things in and was given the suggestion to work out if it could do what you want....and that he has since gone and bought a RGB to Component trasncoder, I'd guess it can't accept RGBCompositesync....or he's just wasted over £100!

    Gordon;)
     
  13. mike.gibson

    mike.gibson
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    U might be right - it will take a composite sync via one of its two 15-pin D-types, i.e. Analogue RGB+Comp Sync.
     
  14. leigh h

    leigh h
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    According to a few threads and what the people at Nexnix told me on Friday, you can connect up using the RGB comp sync and that you can use the d sub and change it in the menus etc from RGB which it wont accept due to scan rate to component video and use component to d sub so I am afraid Spectre may have waisted the money on the converter but he might want to use his s video connections.
     
  15. datanet

    datanet
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The VGA ports can be reconfigured RGB....anyone any idea if there's a cable on the market (Scart to 15pin VGA)...or the pinout?
     

Share This Page

Loading...