1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

new hitachi 42pd7200

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by kissit2004, Mar 9, 2005.

  1. kissit2004

    kissit2004
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    89
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    worthing
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi all,

    i have just seen the new plasma from hitachi and i must say its the dogs,but me thinks it might be expensive.
     
  2. lawrenso

    lawrenso
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,155
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Flintshire
    Ratings:
    +35
    Hi,

    where did you see this?? or was it in a mag

    Cheers

    Lawrenso
     
  3. kissit2004

    kissit2004
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    89
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    worthing
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi,

    saw it in a mag at brighton station dont ask me which one but it comes out in april 2005.

    cheers.
     
  4. tradesman

    tradesman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    anyone got more info on this model I speak as a 42PD5200 hitachi owner who would love to know what improvments the 7200 has
     
  5. peezee

    peezee
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  6. Bacus

    Bacus
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    6,533
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    sussex on the coast
    Ratings:
    +1,291
    I have heard it is also supposed to have an electronic turnable stand- through the remote !! Dont know if this is true or not ? bit piontless though !
     
  7. kissit2004

    kissit2004
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    89
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    worthing
    Ratings:
    +0
    yer i have worked it out and could be around the £2,500 figure.
     
  8. tradesman

    tradesman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    not considering they have to cater for all nationalities some peeps like that sort of gagetry
     
  9. tcp/ip

    tcp/ip
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    229
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +29
    I was going to buy the pioneer 435xde in April as I have sold my PW5 but i will hold off till i get the reviews of this new little baby before i buy. Anybody got an idea of who will have it in stock first.
     
  10. lawrenso

    lawrenso
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,155
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Flintshire
    Ratings:
    +35
    Shootandshow have it listed on their site with a TBA against the price. Might be jumping the gun a bit though.

    Cheers

    Lawrenso
     
  11. tradesman

    tradesman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Found the following speci on shoot & shows site

    Specification
    Screen Type 42" 16:9
    Resolution 1024 x 1024
    Brightness 1,200cd/m2
    Contrast Ratio 1,000:1
    Colours 68.6 Billion
    Video Inputs RGB1: DVI + Audio (24 Pin DVI-D)
    RGB2: RGB/Y, PB, PR + Audio (Mini D-sub 15-pin)
    AV1: Composite Video / Y, PB, PR + L, R
    AV2: Composite Video / Y, PB, PR + L, R
    AV3: Composite Video / S-Video + L, R
    AV4: Composite Video + L, R
    AV5: Composite Video / S-Video + L, R (Side Terminal)
    AV6: HDMI
    Dimensions: 1,050 x 676 x 110mm (Monitor only)
    1,230 x 756 x 348mm (with Speakers & Stand)
    Weight 37.0kg (Monitor only)
    45.1kg (with Speakers & Stand)
     
  12. creative-av

    creative-av
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,086
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +56
    Is this panel going to be HDCP compliant?

    Steve
     
  13. kissit2004

    kissit2004
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    89
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    worthing
    Ratings:
    +0
    but the big question still is what will b the price?
     
  14. efendi

    efendi
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    64
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Of course as each HDMI is HDCP compliant by nature ;)

    Petr
     
  15. creative-av

    creative-av
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,086
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +56
    I don't think that is the case that all HDMI inputs are automatically HDCP compliant? I thought the screen had to be able to display 720p/50hz to make it UK HDCP compliant?
     
  16. efendi

    efendi
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    64
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well they are (in contrary to DVI, which could be even with or without HDCP), but there is no such thing as UK (USA etc) HDCP. The HDCP is an anti-piracy feature and as such has nothing to do with the broadcasting format (720p/50, 60 etc). However, if you'd like to view UK Sky HD broadcast next year, there is some criteria to be met first, and the HDCP compliant digital connection between (Sky) STB and apropriate displaying device is only one of them, the ability to display 720p/50 is another one. Search the forum for further informations :)

    Petr
     
  17. kissit2004

    kissit2004
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    89
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    worthing
    Ratings:
    +0
    so are we saying that this is a good plasma ie with all the settings for the furture and that some day down the line we have to change is due to it being out of date.

    i have a sky+

    ps2 and a dvd.

    so it would have to have more than one scart socket plus hd ready.

    :thumbsup: steve
     
  18. tradesman

    tradesman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you take a look at the speci I posted further up this thread you will see it has three scart connections and visit the link posted by peezee (even though it's in german) you will see evidence of the screens HDCP capability
    ps regarding price hitachi are very competitive so I feel the cost will be a pleasant surprise
     
  19. kissit2004

    kissit2004
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    89
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    worthing
    Ratings:
    +0
    all sounds good to me and as you say tradesman i may well get this one.

    cheers steve.
     
  20. creative-av

    creative-av
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,086
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +56
    Maw/HD -> Have you heard or seen these screens yet? Any comments?

    The spec does sound pretty impressive.
     
  21. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    :rotfl: :rotfl: Don't ask me about ALIS screens, haven't you heard! What you will find is that in spite of Hitachi's extensive penetration of the distribution network, they are almost universally disliked by pro installers, for many reasons, but as someone will torch my pants if I repeat it all, suffice to say their feature set is not what we look for to get a polished custom install.
     
  22. JH4

    JH4
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2,276
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +212
    1024 X 1024 will display HD, but it's not the 'top spec' HD. TVs that do are yet to appear.
     
  23. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    720p @ 50hz is UK HDTV rather than UK HDCP, easily confused mate. HDCP (High Def Copyright Protection) is the copyright encryption standard, HDTV (High Def Television) is the broadcasteded service. HDTV can then come in 720p or 1080i resolutions, which will be run at 50Hz. Many screens do no accept 720p at 50Hz, only 60hz as is the US standard.

    HDMI by default is HDCP - but doesn't necessarilly accept the 50Hz variant of 720p.

    And something to really stir it up - a guy in the RPTV forum got an e-mail from Sagem saying Sky have changed their minds and are gonna announce that analogue component will be available on the Sky HD service!!

    [I wouldn't take this seriously by the way, it's likely to be a misunderstanding or not the whole truth - i.e. component will only be available for a short time or something]
     
  24. kissit2004

    kissit2004
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    89
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    worthing
    Ratings:
    +0
    so what r we saying this telly is bang up to date ie has all the new hdtv and ready for sky's new hd service.

    steve.
     
  25. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    It is, not one I would choose, but then I don't have to watch telly at your house, so if you like it rest assured it does the business as far as skyHD is concerned.
     
  26. tradesman

    tradesman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    don't let Maw or anyone else put you off buying an hitachi plasma just remember this, sky's own branded set is made in the hitachi factory and is their own 42PD5200 with a piano black frame and the sky logo
     
  27. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    And all Sky's products and dealings are of the finest quality, and they make no profit from the general public for the terriffic service they offer.

    Don't get me started, Hitachi are a cheap make, far above average number of complaints, moderate to poor after sales, moderate performance, but well priced for the feature set. Good plug and play characteristics generally, a telly for the great unwashed.
     
  28. John

    John
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    10,927
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,616
    Ouch , that hurt :D
    Js
     
  29. kissit2004

    kissit2004
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    89
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    worthing
    Ratings:
    +0
    well it sounds like a good plasma just be interesting to see how much it would cost and mayb i might get one.

    i think around £2500.

    cheers steve.
     
  30. Dr Pete

    Dr Pete
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0

Share This Page

Loading...