1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Hitachi 42PD3200

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by bazlion, Aug 14, 2005.

  1. bazlion

    bazlion
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  2. Andywilliams

    Andywilliams
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2002
    Messages:
    2,078
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    notts.
    Ratings:
    +63
    Looking at the specs and the price i should think they will sell like hot cakes cant see them being a bad screen looking at hitachis latest plasmas just seems so cheap though.
     
  3. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,583
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,921
    God that's cheap !!!!!

    Bet it's as good as my £2000 7200 too :mad: :(
     
  4. calsam

    calsam
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nah they're so crap even Argos sells them!!
     
  5. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,583
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,921
    I can't see it being crap.
    It's still an ALIS and HDready.

    Hitachi website doesn't mention it :confused:

    I reckon prices of plasmas are going to drop big style :smashin:
     
  6. chrisw

    chrisw
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2,389
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Maidenhead
    Ratings:
    +271
    Anyone else know about this screen?
     
  7. NewToyForXmas

    NewToyForXmas
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    75
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Looks great - improved contrast ratio, HD-ready! And dirt cheap! Could it just be a panel?
     
  8. martinthorn

    martinthorn
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmmm.. argos say they reserve the right to ship a PD5000 instead which they say is a similar model. Looking on the Hitachi website (where there is no PD3200), one finds that the PD5000 is a monitor only, with no tuner and no SCART connections (which is fine if that's all you want !). So be careful when ordering and make sure you get the one with the tuner and scarts !

    http://www.hitachidigitalmedia.com/DMG/viewProduct_1.jsp?productid=336&drilldown=4&urlnumber=0

    Martin
     
  9. LordNem

    LordNem
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just bought this .. Please tell me its a good buy

    its my first plasma :lease: :lease: :lease:
     
  10. martinthorn

    martinthorn
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you buy from Argos ? I'd just make sure that you get the one advertised, and not the possible replacement. I wouldn't worry about your purchase though as Hitachi plasmas seem to get more praise than complaints, am considering one myself too !

    Martin
     
  11. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,583
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,921
    It seems a great buy at first glance :thumbsup:

    If you got everything you wanted, I can't fault it :smashin:

    But how long is delivery???
    Like has been said, Hitachi don't even list it.

    Come back to us on this, because I guess many people are intrigued.
     
  12. LordNem

    LordNem
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I ordered it today they said 2 weeks... (end of the month)

    i got mine from http://www.soundandvisiononline.com/moreinfo/index.asp?product_id=8697

    Not argos... so i should get the right one

    As I will let everyone know as i go along what i think and im sure ill need some help with it .... LOL

    Just hope it delivers everything im expecting... Ive been told its suppose to a really really good buy and for the price its a fudging steal! Just hope its as good as it says on the tin!
     
  13. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,583
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,921
    Don't expect 2 weeks, IMO :thumbsdow

    But I don't know the seller, so maybe they're pukka.

    Strange that H don't list it??? but maybe the site's always behind???

    If it does what it says, you've done well mate, don't worry :thumbsup:

    The Hitachi ALIS can do HD, NP, it just depends what it comes with.

    Good luck
     
  14. bazlion

    bazlion
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    I e.mailed Hitachi yesterday ref this new model asking them for the Spec's, they said it will be available in August, but they did not have any spec's for it, can you believe that? unbelievable, I have also e.mailed one of the suppliers asking them to confirm whether or it not it is a panel only, although it is advertised on both websites as a Television.
     
  15. bazlion

    bazlion
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Just had an e.mail back from Soundandvision, they say it's an external tuner with this model,not very clear as to whether it is supplied or what!
     
  16. Korum

    Korum
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,281
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Stockton-on-Tees
    Ratings:
    +704
    quote:

    'Just hope it delivers everything im expecting... Ive been told its suppose to a really really good buy and for the price its a fudging steal! Just hope its as good as it says on the tin!'

    Lordnem,

    Who exactly told you it's supposed to be a good buy, absolutely nobody knows anything about this plasma, you don't even know if it's a TV or a panel although it's looking increasingly like it's a panel. you're a brave man taking a risk with that sort of money I hope you can return it if it's not what you were expecting.

    Wouldn't you have been better off at least waiting until the specs came out as the PD5200H is advertised as 'HD Ready' on websites when it doesn't comply with the specs.
     
  17. LordNem

    LordNem
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was told by a mate who has done his home work on Plasma's hopfully he will be right... if not its going back...

    Maybe it would have been better waiting but it may have increased in price by then...

    It is a TV not just a panel though or at least thats whats being advertised... if it is just a panel they its false advertising.
     
  18. martinthorn

    martinthorn
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is what I recieved from Hitachi UK today through email :

    Product Features
    106cm Visible Plasma Widescreen Television
    Built-in TV Tuner
    VGA Resolution of 852 x 480 Pixels
    3 x SCART Sockets (2 x RGB)
    HDMI and Component Sockets
    15p D-Sub PC Socket
    Panel Luminance 1,500cd/m2
    Contrast Ratio 10,000:1
    2 x 10W RMS Output
    Headphone Socket for Personal Viewing


    so looks like a VGA panel with an HDMI connector. Now the price may make sense : that is, if the PD3200 can output a high definition signal but at a lower resolution.. but then again at the top of the power point slide they sent me there are big red letters saying 'Tentative - subject to change' !

    Martin
     
  19. bazlion

    bazlion
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Which is quite different to the spec's given in the SoundandVision link, I find it quite unbelievable that this model is in the shops in a matter of weeks, but hitachi cannot confirm the Spec's.
     
  20. LordNem

    LordNem
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    it fudging better be.... Its suppose to arrive sometime next week
     
  21. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Hitachi do buy in SD panels, the PMA255 is a W-VGA unit. This of course takes it outside the HD ready spec, so if you buy it as HD ready, try it and don't like it, you have the sale of good act, false description, to help you send it back. It may well be HD compatible, but unless it's the ALIS panel it's not HD ready, as they are the only hi def panels H use at 42"
     
  22. LordNem

    LordNem
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    To hear that from you makes me sad... Ive been told your the one to ask about these things and you have told me ... Shame I was getting really exited cause i thought it would be HD,

    Will it be ok for about 5 year though? Will he display HD? cause it has HDMI???

    here are the spec i was send by Hitachi
     
  23. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    If it has HDMI, most likely it will be HD COMPLIANT, ie it will display the signal. I pointed out the HD ready bit cos the ad I've seen for it states HD ready, which is not quite right, to carry the HD ready logo, it must accpet the same signals on component and HDMI/DVI inputs, carry 1080i and 720p at both 50 and 60 Hz, and have 720 or more vertical lines. So the 7200 is HD ready, no w-vga panels are.
     
  24. chrisw

    chrisw
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2,389
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Maidenhead
    Ratings:
    +271
  25. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    He's got it at more money than a new one from a proper shop!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...