New HIFI system..need advice on components

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by lreinstein, Jan 12, 2008.

1. lreinstein

lreinstein
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am pretty new to the audiophile stuff and so would appreciate all advice. I am setting up systems in two rooms ---one will be a home theater (i will post questions on that in a different thread) and one is the Living Room where my wife and I listen to music---Mostly Classical, Jazz, and Vocals. For the Music (2 channel) system I have a pair of KEF XQ40 Floor standing speakers. Our music sources will be CD's (regular, not SACD for now).

1. My audio pro is advising the purchase of an integrated amplifier, and specifically the Marantz PM7001. I am wondering if this is a good choice? Alternatively I have considered simply using an older Marantz A/V receiver that I own (SR-585) or, getting the more expensive Denon PMA 2000IVR.

I am not looking for the absolute highest end audiophile reference system, but I am interested in a very good quality sound. I also want the components to be well matched and compatible in quality.

2. I also need to decide on a CD player to go with this system. He is recommending the Marantz SA8001 which seems like an excellent, if not (for me) pricey choice. Would I be served just as well by the less expensive CD5001? Or would I really hear the difference and should go for the higher end one. What parameters are key in this decision? And, I originally thought of getting a 5CD player like the CC40001., Would this be a mistake and not serve the system well? What about a Denon CD?

3. Finally, I am perplexed by all of the audiophile terminology. Like what does "soundstage" mean? Is there a good glossary for this.

Once again, i am very grateful for any of the replies and help that you all give. I know I am crazy to get started because it is clear that there is no end in sight

Larry

2. cwilson

cwilson