New HDD for Macbook Pro 2.0Ghz Core Duo

Discussion in 'Apple Forum' started by gaz2810i, Jun 13, 2008.

1. gaz2810i

gaz2810i

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +426
    I have a 2 year old macbook pro with an 80 gb hard drive - I am currently covered by a 3 year Apple care plan. Will replacing the Hard drive Void this plan or warrenty? Is it worth doing or should I simply buy something like this http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=224073&source=1&DOY=13m6 and replace external drive in a years time.

I Will be using the extended space to edit High def in Final Cut? Cheers

Also can people give me an idea of what it will take nd what are the risks (I know it takes opening up the thing) seeing as i've never done anything like this before.

2. stevelup

stevelup

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,144
    Hi

It's not a 'user replaceable part' on the MBP so you would indeed void the warranty.

I would recommend that you get a firewire external disk, not USB2. They perform much better then USB ones on Macs.

Have a look at the LaCie Quadra ones - only slightly more expensive than the WD one you linked to and much nicer. Solid aluminium enclosure and they have FW400, FW800, USB2 and eSATA ports.

Steve

3. J0hnEast0n

J0hnEast0n

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +22
    Replacing the HDD yourself will void the warrenty. You have to get Apple, or an Apple approved company to do the work for you. If you phone Apple up they will tell you where the nearest one is.
    I was quoted £95 to have the HDD changed!! I never went for it, but managed to get it in for free when my laptop was in for repair! :)

http://www.macupgrades.co.uk/store/ will give you a good idea of what HDD's you laptop will take.

4. Monopot

Monopot

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +190