1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New HD-Ready requirements exclude most plasma below 50"?

Discussion in 'TVs' started by loz, Sep 5, 2005.

  1. loz

    loz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2001
    Messages:
    13,058
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,796
    Just noticed a new HD-Ready Minimum Requirements document from EICTA

    http://www.eicta.org/files/MinReqHDTV08-05-174441A.pdf

    It says the following, which seems to exclude most current 42" "HD Ready" plasmas

    "Can reproduce any HD source (television broadcast) on its HD outputs in at least one of the following HD formats and timings with a 16:9 aspect ratio:
    a. 1280x720 @ 50Hz progressive, or
    b. 1920x1080 @ 50Hz interlaced
    11. The HD television receiver provides a mode in which it delivers 1280x720p and 1920x1080i, 50Hz HD sources (television broadcasts) in their original format (unscaled) and timing on its HD output to an “HD ready” display device."
     
  2. AML

    AML
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,989
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Ratings:
    +229
    Well a lot of current 42" plasmas are only 1024X768. I guess these have to be excluded.
    Even if they have DVI-D or HDMI and component inputs.
    They can display the picture, but they have to scale it.
     
  3. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,028
    no.

    They have to have a minimum of 720 pixels vertically, and *accept* 1280x720 and 1920x1080 - they don't need that many pixels.

    Think about it - most LCDs are 1280x720, so they wouldn't display all of a 1920x1080 either, but are still 'hd ready'
     
  4. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    I might have the wrong end of the stick but doesn't this just relate to STB's with HD tuners and those TV's who might in time have HD tuners incorporated?
     
  5. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,028
    yeah, having now actually read the document :rolleyes: it is for STBs and the like.

    Strange that it only mandates 50Hz, when the HD ready TVs require both 50 and 60.

    I guess it doesn't stop someone outputting 60Hz, its just a minimum spec.

    Also a little odd that TVs that support HD are called 'HD Ready', and STBs that support HD are called HD TVs???
     
  6. loz

    loz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2001
    Messages:
    13,058
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,796
    OK, I see I missed the distinction between receiver and display.
     
  7. Rimmer

    Rimmer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    One item that caught my attention is the audio requirements:

    "12. a consumer electrical or optical digital audio interface according to [18], carrying:
    - two channel PCM in case of MPEG1- layerII format reception,
    - originally received bitstream in case of AC-3 reception, or
    - transcoded AC-3 bitstream in case of Enhanced AC-3 reception..."

    So Sky HD could use Dolby Digital Plus rather than Dolby Digital?
     

Share This Page

Loading...