1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Hard Drive

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by neilo, Sep 7, 2004.

  1. neilo

    neilo
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +21
    Needs a new internal hard drive How can I tell which one I need re connecters ? Has a 4 year old Dell
     
  2. drummerjohn

    drummerjohn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,488
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    South Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +198
    This will use the standard IDE connector - so you need to buy a HD that is IDE not SATA.

    Also, its unlikely your PC will recognise any hard drive bigger than 60 or 80 Gb due to BIOS limitations.
     
  3. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,745
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    Um, I think it's probable the BIOS will support up to the 137Gb limit, unless Dell used very old BIOSes. I have 2 machines with 1999/2000 BIOSes and both have LBA support meaning 120Gb disks are used in their entirety.

    Also, AFAIK neither 60Gb nor 80Gb was a 'magic number', 32Gb and 137Gb were indeed limits at various times in the evolution of the IDE standard and BIOS support but I've never come across other limits .. again, this is with generic BIOSes, I know Dell can be, er, creative at times. ;)

    What is undoubtedly true is that this PC will NOT see beyond the 137Gb limit since its' BIOS will not have BigLBA (aka. 48-bit) support.
     
  4. neilo

    neilo
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +21
    so a 120 gb max then ? I will be adding it as my 2nd drive can I forsee any probs ?
     
  5. drummerjohn

    drummerjohn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,488
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    South Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +198
    120gb would be good - even if you didnt use all of it - it might be useful in a future machine. Plus its 120gb & 160gb drives are sooo cost effective these days.

    My IBM Aptiva, which I bought in Dec1999, wouldnt see anything bigger than 60gb - how lame was that?
     
  6. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,745
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    :eek: ... certainly I've never seen such a limit before, but then I've never used proprietary systems like Dell and IBM, instead I've built from components.


    Neilo: you may want to give Dell a call to check. They will (should) have a record of your machine's tag number and should (hopefully) be able to give you the definitive answer.

    OTOH, their call centre is in India and getting to talk to someone who (a) you can understand and (b) knows anything technical can be, er, challening at times as I know only too well from work. :rolleyes:
     
  7. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,582
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +482
    Can't the BIOS be flashed to enable support for a larger drive?
    Or is it the case that you can't get BIOS upgrades for DELL machines?
     
  8. Mark Ward

    Mark Ward
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2001
    Messages:
    1,815
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +18
    Just to let you know...

    I have a 1999 Dell Pentium III XPS-T450 (Bios A11) running XP-Pro with 3 Seagate Baracuda 200gb GB Drives in it as a streaming media server and it works just fine. The drives were £65+VAT

    Search here for your Machine and Operating System and you should be able to find the latest bios upgrade.

    Mark.
     
  9. neilo

    neilo
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +21
    wow cheers Mark will look into that
     

Share This Page

Loading...