1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New graphics card needed

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Rigs' started by wiz, Dec 5, 2003.

  1. wiz

    wiz
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,322
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,054
    Hi guys
    Bought Need for Spped underground but it won't run. Comes up with the splash screen then goes. I think my graphis card is not up to it!(Hercules 64mb KyroII).

    Could you recommed a card that will run Need for speed underground got up to £150 to spend, but just want reasonable card.

    rest of system

    amd 1700+
    512mb ram
    jetway 687as mother brd
    xp home :confused:
     
  2. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    No point in anything too powerful (your CPU will be the weak link) so something from ATI, maybe a 9600 variant?

    Other threads here recently with loads of suggestions in the £150 region - last few weeks IIRC.

    :smoke:
     
  3. wiz

    wiz
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,322
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,054
    Ok!

    Thinking of upgrading processor amd motherbrd eventually. What do you recommend???

    :D
     
  4. Miyazaki

    Miyazaki
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    14,304
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +849
    Dual opterons mate!! :)
     
  5. wiz

    wiz
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,322
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,054
    Can you suggest which bank i need to rob?

    :D
     
  6. Rich

    Rich
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,239
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    warrington
    Ratings:
    +134
    have a look at dabs "b grade" section of their website,you can get some really good offers there.
     
  7. Erpland

    Erpland
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    :confused: And there's me saving my pennies for, in my book a 'powerful' 9600
     
  8. CENSORED

    CENSORED
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You have a 1700+, if it's one of the magic ones you could do a lot worse than partnering it with an Abit NF7-S motherboard and applying a smidgeon of overclocking.
     
  9. wiz

    wiz
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,322
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,054
    Wos that then, how do I tell if it's a magic one?

    Can anyone recommend a good motherbrd (AMD compatible)

    :hiya:
     
  10. Erpland

    Erpland
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You've got 150 to spend on a GFX card, and now you're also considering buying a new motherboard just to overclock a AMD 1700 :rotfl:
     
  11. wiz

    wiz
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,322
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,054
    No. I Will update CPU as well!
     
  12. Erpland

    Erpland
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    good on ya
    but doesnt your board take an xp2200? theyre only £46,
    spend £105 on the GFX card and your laughing.
     
  13. wiz

    wiz
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,322
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,054
    Tried a 2100 it wouldn't even boot so thoght sod it! I'll upgrade in stages ( hiding reciepts from wife)

    :D
     
  14. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If it's a "magic" XP1700+ (DLT3C) it should be good for at least 2.2/2.3gHz :eek:

    I've several of these & they're all happy @ 2.4/2.5gHz with low voltage (watercooled though).

    IIRC, they cost <£50.

    :smoke:
     
  15. Erpland

    Erpland
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    heat and noise permitting,that kind of overclock would be worth changing the mainboard.
     
  16. mjr600

    mjr600
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  17. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's the beauty of those chips, they don't get too hot when overclocked as only a very slight v core increase is necessary, say 1.65v (they're 1.5 v core "standard" IIRC).

    2.2/2.3gHz is easily achieveable with moderate air cooling (read: practically silent).

    :smoke:
     
  18. Solar

    Solar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,542
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +478
    yup, i just got myself a 256mb GForce FX for £104, well impressed.
    but where my GF lacks performance, my old ATI 9000pro "128mb" kicks its ass (seriously)
    so wiz if you want a good graphics card go for the ati 9600 256mb
    its £25 more than the GForce FX but you will be getting at least a £100 worth more from it
     
  19. Ashy

    Ashy
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    350
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    get yourself a 9600xt, if your after a motherboard look at the nforce2 ranges. you cant really go wrong with epox/abit/asus.

    however, you would see a bigger boost in performance if you got yourself some high speed memory, get a pair of 3200 ddr sticks and you will be laughing. (for running in an nforce2 board that is)
     
  20. wiz

    wiz
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,322
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,054
    Thanks guys!

    Settled on a MSI FX5600XT in the end. £99 from computer fair, seems ok for now

    :clap:
     
  21. ASH1

    ASH1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,208
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +61
    Hi wiz, I've got a Gigabyte 7NNXP motherboard with a AMD 2800+ chip. It's a good stable board IMO, and it has SATA and 4 duel ram slots.

    ASH1
     

Share This Page

Loading...