1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New flagship Pioneer amp

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by kentlad, Jan 7, 2004.

Tags:
  1. kentlad

    kentlad
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Messages:
    51
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Just about to purchase the VSA-AX10i amp for my new rig.

    However notice that av-land are advertising the new VSA-AX10Ai (also mentioned in HCC recently), apart from supporting WMA 9 and having a bit more beef. Does anyone know any details and more imortantly price?

    Will the old model be reduced in price? Don't really want to go and splash out £2075 (cheapest I have seen so far), only to find the new ones comes in at the same price or the old one comes down by a few hundred.

    Purchase / install looking likely for early feb, any info greatly appreciated.

    Ian.
     
  2. wizbongre

    wizbongre
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    589
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Liverpool, Merseyside
    Ratings:
    +63
    Sorry, don't know about your query but just wondered what WMA 9 is?!

    Thanks!
     
  3. CARLOS

    CARLOS
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    Messages:
    6,407
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    WEST MIDLANDS
    Ratings:
    +1,403
    Windows Media Audio version 9 :)
     
  4. Cool-hand

    Cool-hand
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,105
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Portsmouth / Middle East
    Ratings:
    +77
    kentlad, hold fire till you know more. Ive seen some members swap the 10 for the 5 as its almost the same for half the dosh!

    ch
     
  5. nobby

    nobby
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    602
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    wee Norn Iron
    Ratings:
    +137
    in response to the last post ...

    is the 5, the same as the 10?

    what is better on the 10?

    i am thinkin of upgradin my yammy ax1 to the 10 due to the xtra sound processin, thx etc.

    should i look at the 5 as a reasonable successor to this monster amp i currently own

    thanks for any advice


    nobby:

    confused: :eek:
     
  6. russraff

    russraff
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2000
    Messages:
    2,329
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +56
    The AX5i is nowhere near as good as the AX10i. They may share some features, but the sound from the AX10 is much better. The AX10 has THX Ultra2 processing and the auto setup is more elaborate on the AX10 amongst other things.

    Russell
     
  7. Warpaint

    Warpaint
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    591
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +61
    AX10 also has video up conversion to component.
     
  8. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +482
    Hmmm, I think it's a bit strong to say that the AX5 is nowhere near the AX10 in terms of performance.
    Sure the AX10 has more frequency bands in it's MCACC, has more power, does component video up conversion and has a higher level of THX certification but I would still say the improvements are minimal for the price difference and most people would need no more than an AX5.
    My suggestion is to trial them both and see if the additional spec' of the AX10 is worth the extra cash.

    The AX5 actually gets a best buy in one of the audiophile Hi-Fi mags (don't remember which) as a very good stereo amp.
     
  9. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    the AX10 IS better, than the AX5i.
    but it also demands high end kit to partner it, to get the best out of it. It also has much better grunt and dosent distort at higher volumes.
    the AX5 however is a good compromise if you have a smaller room.

    the new ax10 also features dolby prologic IIx. its more of an update.
    However there are a few new amps about to hit the market that feature HDMI switching and a host of new features.
    now is not a good time to spend loads on an amp. wait a little bit to see this years new products.
     
  10. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +482
    Ooooh! Didn't know that.
    I wonder if they've also put a USB port on it now (and iLINK)?
    If/when they incorporate an HDMI port with HDMI up conversion from component/rgb, etc. then I'll get one.
     
  11. Dimmy

    Dimmy
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +0
    True, the AX10 has a more stable power supply, a tad more flexibility, higher build and the 9 Band Equaliser with MCACC (as opposed to the AX5's 5 band).

    The power output difference is unexpectedly tiny. THe AX5 delivers 105 watts into five channels, the AX10 shrinks to about 120ish. Frankly, the two are so close in specification and so similar in sound, that most people will struggle to find reasons Why Not to buy the AX5, and stuggle more-so to find reasons why to opt for the AX10 over it.

    If you biamp the front channels on the AX5 I'd imagine the gap would be lessened further still.
     
  12. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    170watts equal power out put into 8 channels.
    170watt in stero mode.

    the new AX10ia is 200 watt
     
  13. Dimmy

    Dimmy
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +0
    The AX10 isn't 170 watts into 8 Ohms, it's 170 watts into 6 Ohms.
     
  14. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    yes your right its 150 watts into 8 channels at 8 ohms
    the ax5 is 100 watts @ 8 ohms



    ax5 also = motorola 150mip 48bit pro (x2) DSP
    and 1 192/24bit dac

    AX10 i = SHARC 32bit (X2) and 48bit(24bit double precision)
    also 192khz/24bit dacs (1 for each channel)


    but i think i would buy the yamaha Z9 if i was going to buy an amp today.
     

Share This Page

Loading...