1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New firmware for SONY HX900!?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by maddi, Jan 31, 2005.

  1. maddi

    maddi
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Without beeing too optimistic...
    I read in a German forum that someone will definitely send a HX900 to support in order to do a firmware update beeing available since late January.
    If this is true, maybe some major drawbacks will get a correction.

    Maddi
     
  2. Pilch

    Pilch
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    110
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +5
    *crosses fingers for divide function*
     
  3. maddi

    maddi
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    First unofficial bug fix notes of new firmware for this beauty.

    - problems recording encrypted video signals from some pay tv channels
    - no display of channel names (?)
    - no automatic clock setting through some channels
    - brightness jitter in transitions from bright to dark scenes (?)

    For me this short list is a bit ambiguous, but at the moment I don't have more detailed information. It really looks like a rather rudimentary release, just to fix some major bugs - which I can't see with my unit :( .

    But, let's wait for the unit to be returned.


    Maddi
     
  4. Chris at Home

    Chris at Home
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I found that the standard timer settings are disabled by setting times by Videoplus which scans all channels for a trigger signal. If a scan is taking place, the record button on the remote control also gets put out of use. You MUST disable the VP scan to use the record button if a "must record it now" situation arises. If you need to use the standard timer, then NO Videoplus times may be set. Presumably, in some countries, not all TV stations transmit Videoplus. How do they manage with a mix of standard times and Videoplus times?

    Incidentally, I found the Videoplus functions to be a bit inaccurate, especially when one programme follows another. A 1 minute gap between times would be fine but I suspect that the TV companies want us to record all the adverts as well!
     
  5. JethroUK

    JethroUK
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +0
    Videoplus doesn't transmit any signals - i think you're get mixed up with PDC
     
  6. Chris at Home

    Chris at Home
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Actually, the Sony manual refers to it as "PDC/VPS" throughout the timer recording section. :confused: That's what got me mixed up.
     
  7. Timbo21

    Timbo21
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    4,471
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +263
    Emailed Sony about firmware update & got this reply:-

    Thank you for your recent enquiry.

    "We have got no information saying that there is going to be a firmware update for this model. It is very unlikely that there will in fact be an update to this model, however if there ever were to be a firmware update this would be detailed in the support section of www.sony.co.uk.

    I am sorry we could not assist on this occasion."

    Doesn't look too hopeful. :(
     
  8. musukebba

    musukebba
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    689
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    Any of this story remind you of the recorders from a certain company whose name begins with "P"?
     
  9. ivanwilson

    ivanwilson
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    111
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yes - I've noticed a lot of posts about "Panasonic"
     
  10. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,204
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,261
    Mainly ones saying how good they are ;) Don't worry Ivan - maybe one day you'll convince yourself that the Philips you brought wasn't a lemon :) Maybe...
     
  11. maddi

    maddi
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Having read several complaints about Canadian, US and German SONY customer support you shouldn't expect any information on new firmware releases for standalone DVD players or recorders. Until now, two HX900 owners told me they sent the unit to a local service provider and got it back with a new firmware. Asking for the changes they got a short list of corrections. And, yes, SONY CS denies that a new firmware exists.
    I definitely will try to get it from a local service point.
    I got my own experiences with the CS the last weeks - they don't know much.
     
  12. Timbo21

    Timbo21
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    4,471
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +263

    Please keep us informed :)
     
  13. Chris at Home

    Chris at Home
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are the Sony staff treating us like mushrooms? (Fed on bull**** and kept in the dark!) My HX 900 is fine if you don't want a "divide" function. That doesn't worry me too much because my attention span is little more than 1 hour!
     

Share This Page

Loading...