New firmware Denon in here

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Barend, Dec 21, 2004.

  1. Barend

    Barend
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    804
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    Just uploaded it:
    www.barendh.com/6609-6.exe
    If I understand the included directions this will work for the 3910, 2910 and 2910.
    6609-6 itself is NOT multi-region.
    It upgrades to hdmi 1.1 (multichannel audio enabled) and corrects some DVD-Audio A/V issues, and who knows what else...

    For naming compatibility, I renamed the muliregion firmware to 6609-5 multiregion as follows:
    www.barendh.com/6609-5 multiregion.exe
    You can first load this, and then the -6 version.
    It will not overwrite your new multi region settings.

    Barend
     
  2. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    This firmware WILL overwrite your MR firmware as this is not a MR release.

    the Firmware dosent write to certain parts of the bios, but does a complete rewrite or flash if you like(much like flashing a motherboard bios).

    That said the firmware has been updated and the big bonus is that my i-link issue is no more with this release. :smashin:

    Will need to wait for Denon to release the MR version of this and then all should be well.

    Thanks Barend for making this available, im told the MR version should arrive very soon.
     
  3. AML

    AML
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,989
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Ratings:
    +229
    Darn. I dont want to have multy region issues agian so ill have to wait for a multy region version before i use this new firmware. TBH I havent had any problems with my DVD player, so i dont mind the wait. I dont actually use HDMI or DVD-A at the moment.

    I suggest to those who are like me to wait.
     
  4. Barend

    Barend
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    804
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    Will be happy to host the MR version as soon as available.
    Someone please send it over when available.
    Still puzzled why my R1 discs still play!
    Been thinking along the lines "maybe I'm watching the ntsc-2-pal conversion" but soon realized that's rubbish, because R1 discs should be spit out right away...
    Barend
     
  5. Plump

    Plump
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    636
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    under the bridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    any news if they are going to enable sacd over denon link (denon link 3rd gen)
     
  6. ianh64

    ianh64
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    SW London/Surrey borders
    Ratings:
    +63
    Its is simplay a case of enabling or is a case of writing something that will convert SACD DSD to PCM. It may not even be possible as the unit may not have the hardware or horsepower needed, especially at a suitable quality.
     
  7. Plump

    Plump
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    636
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    under the bridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    I do not know this but I recall some people on this forum claiming it is all prepared.
     
  8. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    to enable SACD on the denonlink will just involve a firmware update
     
  9. Bruce1310

    Bruce1310
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    227
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Aylesbury, Bucks
    Ratings:
    +0
    Has anyone heard any more about when a multi-region version of this firmware upgrade (6609-6) will be available??

    Bruce
     
  10. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    no not yet, which is annoying as -7 will soon be available
     
  11. loonatic

    loonatic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,877
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Springwell Village, Gateshead
    Ratings:
    +16
    Any idea if they will have solved the Black Level setting reverting to enhanced all the time in the -7 release ?

    Cheers, Lee
     
  12. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    possible, they have completely fixed the chroma delay in -7 release(or made it more accurate)
    but thats all i know at this time
     
  13. br0d

    br0d
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2002
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    any chance of anyone posting the latest 2900 firmware? having problems with freezing on dvd r and was hoping maybe this might solve it
     
  14. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    You not using labels on those discs are you?
     
  15. br0d

    br0d
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2002
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    no just plain go4 dye datasafe disks
     
  16. HeweyBoy101

    HeweyBoy101
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Messages:
    859
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Lancing, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +60
    Are labels a problem with DVD-R on the 3910?
    I've only had my 3910 for 3 weeks. Plays all recent DVD-R media where I haven't bothered with labels. However, almost all earlier stuff from last year either won't play at all, or plays for a few minutes and freezes. All these "problem" discs have labels.
    Furthermore, last night played Tomorrow Never Dies (R1), original disc, not DVD-R. Played fine for 1 hour, then started to freeze.
    All discs played flawlessley on my previous Sony DVP-7700. Clearly the 3910 is very fussy as regards what media it will accept. Bit of a bummer given the price of the player. Picture and sound quality however top rate. I even find the onboard DD & DTS decoder to be noticeably better than via my Yamaha DSP-A1, which I wasn't expecting. Audio wise, I can't remember enjoying 5.1 channel movie sdoundtracks this much since the latter days of LaserDisc !!!
     
  17. Bruce1310

    Bruce1310
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    227
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Aylesbury, Bucks
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi HeweyBoy101

    Don't know if you saw my thread but I had a similar experience last night with one of my disks...I just think the player is very sensitive and any dirt, fingerprints, even minor imperfections on the surface causes problems. I also agree that the sound and picture is top rate.

    Bruce
     
  18. Barend

    Barend
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    804
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    Never had a problem, none with CDR, CDRW, DVD+R(W) nor DVD-R(W).
     
  19. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    Well sticking a label on a disc that rotates at speed is never a good idea and will infact cause the drive to wear quicker. but yes labels and the 3910 dont mix. Better to use a marker or a printer that will print a DVD.
     
  20. Bruce1310

    Bruce1310
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    227
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Aylesbury, Bucks
    Ratings:
    +0
    I see that in Singapore they now have a 6609-7 firmware release which is multi-region. Apparently corrects; DVD-A menu problem, Chroma Delay and upgrade HDMI.......

    Bruce
     
  21. Engine Joe

    Engine Joe
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone have the file?
     
  22. efl

    efl
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can anyone tell me how to check the firmware level on my Denon DVD 3910?
     
  23. Barend

    Barend
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    804
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    Got a url for the file or at least u url where you found the information?
     
  24. Bruce1310

    Bruce1310
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    227
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Aylesbury, Bucks
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Barend

    I read about it here It's an AV forum, I guess in Singapore.

    Bruce
     
  25. Bruce1310

    Bruce1310
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    227
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Aylesbury, Bucks
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi elf

    To check firmware do the following...

    1) Turn off the (On/Off) power button on the front panel. (not the standby button)

    2) Then press the 'Open/Close' button and 'Play' button at the same time. Keep those buttons pressed and turn on the (On/Off) power button.

    3) Wait for it to load until you come to the display showing " Loading", release all buttons and then get hold of your Remote Controller and press 3,2,6,5 on the numeric keypads. The firmware details should appear on the display...Press select to cycle through the details

    Bruce
     
  26. efl

    efl
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank Bruce!
     
  27. awhb

    awhb
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thought you had to press Menu after the 3,2,6,5?

    :confused:
     
  28. Bruce1310

    Bruce1310
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    227
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Aylesbury, Bucks
    Ratings:
    +0
    awhb,

    You are absolutely right. My appologies, left that out...

    elf,

    After you have pressed 3,2,6,5 on the numeric keypad, you need to press menu to show the firmware......

    Sorry for the slip up.

    Bruce
     
  29. efl

    efl
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks awhb (and of course) Bruce. It works fine now....
     
  30. Spero D.

    Spero D.
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone got the new -7 firmware yet?
     

Share This Page

Loading...